We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was clean, but hallways need some attention” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1708 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79103-2114   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
New Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Room was clean, but hallways need some attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a King Suite for one night, while traveling through, and it was clean and quiet.
But the king mattress was old and lumpy...and granddaughter slept on the pull out couch...that mattress was ready for the trash years ago.
Ok, but not worth effort to stay unless there is nothing else available.

Room Tip: Would pick upper floor, and to the back of the building as the hotel is right on the frontage road o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    101
    84
    57
    56
See reviews for
147
94
39
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This "hotel" looks like an old Days Inn that was converted to a La Quinta. It's motel-style with doors that lead outside, not to a hallway. This is great if you have dogs (La Quinta allows two to stay in the room for free) and want quick access outside, but it is not quite what I expect from this chain. It is located just off I-40 and is walking distance from a barrage of fast food restaurants and a short drive to many others. It's fairly well located for sight-seeing. The rooms are clean and while mostly updated in terms of paint and bedding and decor, there's a little bit of shabbiness to the bathrooms and as "House Hunters" would say, "the finishes." The pool is clean albeit small and also slighty older looking. But on balance, the hotel really is clean enough. The staff is friendly enough. The breakfast is good enough. My only concern is that, when my husband took the puppy out at 430am, a guy came up and asked him for money. I'm not sure if I'd stay here if I was a single female. But it's a value stay for sure, especially with pets. Just be wary of the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Room was dirty when arrived. The bath room floors were gross. Shower curten was dirty and we didn't want to touch it. Loud guests around us. Someone tried opening our door twice at around 3 am. So didn't get much sleep because I was worried about my families safety.It was close to everything we needed it for ie (resturants, liesure activities, air port, etc...) the staff was nice but not very knowledgeable. Asked for a wack up call and never got one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We always travel with two small dogs. The rates other hotel/motels charge when traveling with pets is often very expensive. Whenever possible we stay at La Quinta's where pets stay free. We never expect a 5 star hotel experience (we stayed at many of those hotels when traveling on business). However we EXPECT a clean, comfortable room at a fair price. On 5/12/14 we stayed at this La Quinta. They met our expectations. We were very happy with our room here. Although the bathroom was small, the floor tiles appeared to have been replaced not long ago. The carpet and bedding appeared to have been updated too. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet and clean. It was conveniently located off I-40 with many restaurants nearby. Three years ago we stayed at the other La Quinta in Amarillo (on Coulter). At that time, we thought the hotel was shabby and in need of renovation. We have never stayed at the Coulter La Quinta again. I relied on other trip advisor reviewers who said the La Quinta East Airport was the nicer of the two. My husband and I totally agree.

Room Tip: If traveling with pets, request a first floor room when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is an older place, but well maintained. Bed very comfortable, people VERY nice, room clean. Six restaurants in walking distance, more a short drive away. I come through Amarillo a few times a year, and I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, TX
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We received this hotel via bidding and received it at a good rate. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and roomy, and the breakfast was on par with other continental breakfasts offered at chain motels. The location off of I-40 was pretty good as well. The doors are facing the outside, so the card readers seemed to have problems due to exposure to the elements.

This was really a 2.5 experience, and perhaps this was a one-off, but the guests that this motel attracted were a bit of a problem which made the night we spent there somewhat restless. The doors and walls to the outside must be fairly thin, as we heard everything going on outside. Kids were running back and forth screaming until midnight. Around 2:00 in the morning we were woken up by people fighting outside. By 2:30 a couple of shady-looking gentlemen were banging on our door. This eventually subsided until around 5:00 in the morning when a man and lady were knocking on our door. At 5:30 another banging on the door which we ignored. We ate breakfast quickly and had to catch up on sleep when we got home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Address: 1708 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79103-2114
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East/Airport Area Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo La Quinta
La Quinta Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.