We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Holiday Inn??"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amarillo Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amarillo Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Amarillo Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1911 I-40 East at Ross/Osage Street, Amarillo, TX 79102 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Amarillo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“"Holiday Inn??"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had stayed in this Hotel on several occasions when it was still HI, rooms were still very nice as before. Overnight staff was more than helpful & polite. Only drawback was the mattresses, definitely need to upgrade them.

Room Tip: Needs new mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay Y, Director of Sales at Amarillo Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had when you were at this property. We are now the Amarillo Inn & Suites and we take pride in our rooms and in our guest. Our goal is to give each and every guest the best experience possible. If you are ever traveling through again I really hope that you would give our hotel another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    14
    21
    17
See reviews for
30
16
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ponchatoula
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I looked on internet for a Holiday Inn near interstate 40 and was given address for this hotel. We always stay at HI and was surprised to learn hotel had been sold in last six months. We were apprehensive but decided to stay as we were tired. Room was very nice and was everything we are used to. However the complimentary breakfast was way ahead of HI. It was a hot buffet breakfast that was wonderful. The price we paid was much less than the HI. We looked for another Choice hotel on the last leg of our trip and was again very satisfied. Look out HI! I think Choice has some new customers!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay Y, Director of Sales at Amarillo Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
I would like to thank you for the wonderful review. We are now the Amarillo Inn & Suites and are main goal is to make sure that each and every gust that stays receives the best experience ever! If you are ever in Amarillo I sure hope you give the Amarillo Inn & Suites a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband broke down in Amarillo and I and I tried to pay for a room with my debt card and was told that it was declined. We were then told that our card for our other account was also declined. We knew we had money in our accounts so we just paid cash thinking we would check with the bank. The hotel assured us we would not be charged on our cards. They charged us on both cards AND we paid cash! it all added up to 500 hundred and some odd dollars for a one night stay...That was four days ago and I still didn't get my money back I had to file a claim with my bank.... We tried calling the Clarion cooperate number their only offer to us was to take off the 25 dollar pet charge! If you stay there don't use your cards...pay cash only!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay Y, Director of Sales at Amarillo Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had when you were at this property. We are now the Amarillo Inn & Suites and we take pride in our rooms and in our guest. Our goal is to give each and every guest the best experience possible. If you are ever traveling through again I really hope that you would give our hotel another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Very run down and dirty. The room smelled, wallpaper coming off the walls, curtains were torn, sheets looked dingy, mold in the bathtub.....overall horrible! Front desk clerks were not professional. The location is decent but that's the only positive thing I have to say.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay Y, Director of Sales at Amarillo Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had when you were at this property. We are now the Amarillo Inn & Suites and we take pride in our rooms and in our guest. Our goal is to give each and every guest the best experience possible. If you are ever traveling through again I really hope that you would give our hotel another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Flew into Amarillo and needed a place to stay for the night. Called for the free shuttle and it arrived in a timely fashion. Staff were great. Location was safe and the room was very clean. Not all channels on the TV were perfect but you'll have that in a larger facility on occasion. In other reviews it says it needs updates but nothing seemed worn or broke to me. Breakfast was much better than many I have had at other places, almost rivaled a big boy's or eat n park buffet. If you go to Price line under 2 1/2 stars you should end up with it for about $66 but it is luck of the draw with Priceline. I was surprised that taxes are really high here, about $15. All in all I had a really nice room, great breakfast in a secure location for about half price of what I would have spent. Also numerous fast food places adjacent the property. Indoor pool and hot tub looked fine but didn't use them. Overall a great place and I was able to wander around for about 18 hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay Y, Manager at Amarillo Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel Amarillo for your recent stay in Amarillo.

Thank you for staying at the Clarion Hotel I am sure glad that you had and enjoyable experience and If you are ever in Amarillo again I hope you chose stay with us!


Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Clarion Hotel Amarillo the next time you're in Amarillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I am traveling through Texas and Pricelined or Hotwired everything. It's just been really sad how hotels are being inflated with their star ratings. The bathroom was very run down. The elevator needed to be fixed. The TV remote was falling apart.

This was probably a great hotel maybe when it was first built, but now it's gotten old.

Having I40 right outside the window doesn't help either unless you are a very heavy sleeper.

There was trash that needed to be picked up all over the parking lot and someone dumped a basketful of muffins in the hallway in the stairwell entrance. Even the birds couldn't get to that to pick up.

If I could break out the star levels, I would give 4 STARS for the breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay Y, Director of Sales at Amarillo Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had when you were at this property. We are now the Amarillo Inn & Suites and we take pride in our rooms and in our guest. Our goal is to give each and every guest the best experience possible. If you are ever traveling through again I really hope that you would give our hotel another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Rather run-down and the front desk clerk (20 something girl) seemed quite distracted and unable to deal with more than one person at a time. We were directed to the back door to access our room and found the elevator not working and the other elevator not working properly. The clientele seemed a bit suspect and the area of town not the best. On the plus side, the breakfast at the diner downstairs was good and the bar was fun. Probably wouldn't stay here again, though. There are a lot more nicer places on the west side of town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay Y, Director of Sales at Amarillo Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had when you were at this property. We are now the Amarillo Inn & Suites and we take pride in our rooms and in our guest. Our goal is to give each and every guest the best experience possible. If you are ever traveling through again I really hope that you would give our hotel another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
#25 of 69 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn East Amarillo Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites
Baymont Inn & Suites
#27 of 69 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 69 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarillo Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarillo Inn & Suites

Address: 1911 I-40 East at Ross/Osage Street, Amarillo, TX 79102 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarillo Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amarillo Inn & Suites is a historical landmark hotel, bringing back the heart of Amarillo in every stay. Amarillo Inn and Suites is a large full service hotel with so much to offer for the entire family. We take pride in our hotel as well as the guest that walk in the door. The Bristol's Cafe is a blast back to the 50's dinning experience. Then step into the Bristol's Lounge for a refreshing cocktail. With a stay at Amarillo Inn and Suites, you'll be convenient to American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame, Amarillo Museum of Art and Tri State Exposition. We offer 233 guestrooms, featuring flat-screen TV's, private balconies, FREE Wifi and many other wonderful amenities. Enjoy a range of recreational amenities, including an indoor pool, hot tub, and a fitness center. This hotel also features an arcade/game room, and tour/ticket assistance. Enjoy a satisfying meal at a restaurant serving our wonderful guests of Amarillo Inn and Suites. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include a business center, a computer station, and multilingual staff. This hotel has 8 meeting rooms available for events. A round trip airport shuttle is provided at no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Amarillo Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amarillo-i-40 Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarillo Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.