We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Amarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Amarillo to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Amarillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1911 I-40 East at Ross/Osage Street, Amarillo, TX 79102 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We only stayed one night. The front desk people where very nice and helpful. They have a small business center (2 computers and a printer) that was handy. Fortunately we had our shoes on when we checked in late at night because they were replacing the carpet in the back hallway and it was a mess. They didn't remove all the tack strips yet and there was one right in front of the elevator. Could have really ruined our night. The room was decent for the price and was clean but the breakfast made everything worth it. Your typical continental items but then add scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuts and gravy, and the most delicious hashbrowns along with other items on the FREE breakfast buffet and all is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    11
    15
    10
See reviews for
19
14
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way to Colorado. The hotel is little past its prime, but still a good value for the price. The room was clean and quite. The staff was friendly and courteous. The hotel is centrally located which makes it easy to get around Amarillo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I got into Amarillo late at night. We had a reservation at a different hotel, but after checking in we found the room was too dirty to stay in (strong cigarette odor in a supposedly non-smoking room). The other hotels in the area were full, so we started calling around Amarillo to find a place to stay. This hotel had rooms and was a reasonable price. Although it was nothing fancy, it was clean and perfectly adequate for what we needed. The gentleman at the front desk was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amarillo, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Josh B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way home from Dallas to Colorado. All we needed was a clean, pet friendly place to stay. This fit our needs well. The room was clean and had plenty of space. The hotel is definitely showing it's age, but we had no problem with the facilities. We had a pet friendly room with a sliding glass door that opened right out to grass. That was very nice for taking our dog out. The only real issue we had was that housekeeping only left one bath towel in the restroom. There were two hand towels and two wash clothes, but only one bath towel. That was a mystery to us. It was late, so we didn't bother with contacting housekeeping as we had our own. Breakfast was good and all staff I encountered were friendly. The price was difficult to beat in Amarillo, making this a great value. We will likely stay here again when passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amarillo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear aggielisa01,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Yes, the atrium area is outdated and could use new carpet and furniture. However, our room was nice and clean and had some updates done to it ( including a flat screen tv and a good shower head), the pool and hot tub area was nice and didn't smell like chlorine (like a lot of indoor pools) and the breakfast was great for free (eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, French toast, cereal, breads, fruit) and it was served in a cute little 50's diner. Maybe it's all expectation, based on some negative reviews and a $63 a night price we weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised. We will stop here again when we come back through next week.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is outdated, the service was bordering on rude, bathroom straight out of the fifties. Nothing close by for decent eating options. Not a lot of great choices if you need to stay over in Amarillo, but try to avoid this place at all costs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amarillo, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear QuakerBoy,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The room was cool and clean. And I was able to get extra towels the next morning, no problem. The complimentary breakfast wasn't so great that first morning, but it was better that last morning. The Bristol's Cafe's burgers and fries were very good, we ate dinner in the hotel one night. And the kids ate free, which was nice. And for the price, I thought it was good. The pool area was nice, plus there was an area to play pool. It was easy to find and close to all the attractions and restuarants we wanted to go to. The staff was also very nice even those in the restuarant part. We didn't ever make it down to the bar, but thought that was a nice addition.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amarillo

Address: 1911 I-40 East at Ross/Osage Street, Amarillo, TX 79102 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine the scenic Texas flare of Palo Duro Canyon and historic Route 66 and you have the Clarion Hotel Amarillo. Located on Interstate 40, in the middle of the Texas Panhandle, we are minutes from everything including the world famous Big Texan Steak Ranch, one of a kind Cadillac Ranch, international head quarters for American Quarter Horse Association, family-fun amusement park Wonderland, Amarillo Globe News Center, Civic Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fair Grounds and we are, of course, the home of West Texas A&M University athletics! Kick your boots off in our 248 newly renovated guest rooms and Texas inspired public areas. Go back in time to our Route 66, 1950 s theme restaurant Bristol's Café. Take a dip in our relaxing indoor swimming pool, or join some friends at our watering hole, Bristol s Bar. Texas hospitality is what you'll find here... but only at the Clarion Hotel Amarillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amarillo-i-40 Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.