We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, maintenance lacking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn East Amarillo Texas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn East Amarillo Texas to your Saves list
Days Inn East Amarillo Texas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 I-40 East, Exit 71 Ross-Osage Street, Amarillo, TX 79102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Lafayette, Colorado
2 reviews
“OK hotel, maintenance lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Generic hotel, getting a little run down. At check in, lights didn't work because of lack of power outlets and no power strip. To fix it, the maintenance man simply unplugged the TV and plugged in the lamp. Since the door handle was also broken, we asked for another room. The refrigerator wasnt working in this one, so we took its power strip, and made do with the first one. The equipment in the exercise room wasnt working, and the maintenance man wasn't available. All very frustrating. The staff was very polite and accommodating about our complaints, but ineffective. I would say that Days Inn is off our list of candidate motels--there are better choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    88
    96
    57
    37
See reviews for
140
80
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Car was broken into and property was stolen during a 1/2 hour window when the security person had to leave the premises. Not sure how the thieves knew (does this happen often?), but it made for a lousy stay with very little sleep. Police officer who came in to take the report said there's a lot of car break-ins around that area.

Room was OK, although outdated. "Hot" breakfast was so-so: scrambled eggs and biscuits - no bacon or sausage or any kind of meat available. No fruit except for some sad looking oranges tucked in a corner.

Plenty of hotels around I-40... wish we had chosen differently!

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, get a room facing AWAY from the freeway for a quieter stay, park in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were on our way east and stayed here for one night. I appreciate a reasonably priced hotel that is clean, comfortable and quiet. The beds were comfortable and the bath facilities were kept up with a decent shower. The hotel was tidy and the breakfast was quite satisfactory. The location is great, and the hotel was easy to find. Overall, this is just what I was looking for.

My only complaint has to do with the windows! It was indeed a VERY windy night (not that the hotel can do anything about that!) BUT the windows were the worst fitting things I have ever seen in that they whistled with the wind outside. I ended up using earplugs so it was okay but I could still hear the whistle with the plugs!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I booked this in advance as just a place to crash on the way to and from Colorado after a long drive. The rooms were booked on one of the travel deal sites and based mostly on price, with little emphasis on quality or reviews. I think for the price point it's a pretty good stay. The rooms were a little dated and the rooms weren't dirty, but they weren't pristine either. The did have a pool and a free breakfast which was nice, but nothing to write home about (ihop is next door). Parked at the back on the side where I could see my vehicle out of the window of the room (because it's right next to the hwy and not in the best part of town). We are staying in Amarillo again this summer on the way back to Colorado, but we won't be staying here. I'll pay just a bit more and find a little bit nicer place, even if it is just to go in and go to sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the hwy are quieter, but not by much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
#25 of 69 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites
Baymont Inn & Suites
#27 of 69 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
5.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 69 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn East Amarillo Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn East Amarillo Texas

Address: 1701 I-40 East, Exit 71 Ross-Osage Street, Amarillo, TX 79102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn East Amarillo Texas 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn East Amarillo Texas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn East Amarillo Texas Hotel Amarillo
Days Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn East Amarillo Texas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.