We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five rave reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sky

Blue Sky
4201 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-6013
806-355-8100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 409 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Montpelier, VA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Five rave reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our family found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and we were very pleased! The burgers were delicious. We had fries and onion rings -- both excellent! And the milkshakes were amazing! My youngest daughter loves sweet tea and she is on a mission as we travel cross country to find what city/state has the best sweet tea. We are happy to report that the sweet tea at the Blue Sky is in the top two so far. The only negative I have to report is the staff. The lady who took our order was not pleasant and bordered on rude. She hardly answered our questions. When my husband asked how large the order of the fries/onion rings were so we could determine how many we needed for our family, she replied she didn't know. And that was that. It's a shame to have so much going for a restaurant, only to have the staff be rude to the customers. I will probably not be back through Amarillo for a long time but I write this so maybe the management can address these issues. If it were my business, I would want to know. Thanks for a great lunch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    91
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Channing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've eaten burgers all over Amarillo, and the burgers here are decent, but not as good as some of the others. The meat is a little skimpy, and the fries can be a little soggy. The best thing they serve are the onion rings, they're always good. If you want a great burger, try BYOB Burger, Buns over Texas, or Green Chile Willy's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Four people, four dishes, five stars.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Chicken sandwich, chicken salad, hot dog and cheeseburger, couldn't have been better. Talked to nephews later in the day and they had eaten at Blue Sky in Lubbock. They agree, wonderful place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Fried Steak Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This place serves very large portions of excellent food. The chicken fried steak was the best I have ever eaten, tender and flavorful with really good gravyl. The Greek salad was huge, easily enough for two. My husband liked the burger he ordered. It's not fancy. You order at the counter, and they call your number when it is ready, but I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great except the fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Chicken sandwich and burger were delicious. The chips and queso were really good. The fries were disappointing. They were soft, almost like they were cooked earlier and sat covered until we ordered. Fast service and plenty of places to take a seat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Sky also viewed

 

Been to Blue Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.