We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good menu reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macaroni Joes

Macaroni Joes
1619 S. Kentucky, Amarillo, TX 79102
8063588990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Macaroni Joes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 424 Restaurants in Amarillo
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: I-40 and Georgia (NW corner)
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good menu reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch when in the area to see friends. Food was good, prices were reasonable. Server apologized for lunch taking too long and gave a free desert to each couple as a result, will go back the next time in Amatillo.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinAmarillo, Guest Relations Manager at Macaroni Joes, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
glad to hear you had a great lunch, lunches can get backed up if everyone hits at once, glad to know they took the initiative to buy you a dessert, , we empower them to do so, thanks again, Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    25
    4
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Real Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The best Italian food west of the Mississippi.

Everything I have eaten at Joe's is authentically Italian, prepared very well and the portions are large.

The staff is excellent. The wine selection is very good.

Try it, you'll love it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinAmarillo, General Manager at Macaroni Joes, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
we strive for consistency , freshness and quality , cant win everyone over 100 % of the time, but its great to hear when we do,. your comments are truly appreciated . Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
908 reviews 908 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere For A Night Out & Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Recommend you have a reservation for your dinner as we have been here now three times and each time they were turning customers away. The atmosphere is very nice for a quiet dinner with tables divided up in small rooms for dining. I had the Steak Diane, topped with Mushrooms, Shallots and a Hennessy Reduction, served with Potatoes/Vegetables. $26 My spouse had the Grilled Salmon Seasoned with Lemon Pepper and served on a Cedar Plank with Asparagus/Potatoes. Service has been friendly on each occasion and we have enjoyed our nights out dining here. Plenty of free parking available on site.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinAmarillo, Public Relations Manager at Macaroni Joes, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
thank you for the kind feedback, and yes, reservations are truly recommended as this is not fast food and tables do not turn , in 30 min, one of the hardest things to get thru to people. constancy is what we aim for, hope to see you again soon, Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Been coming since it's opened, but possibly best meal ever tonight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to Mac Joes (as the locals call it) since its opening at least 12-14 years ago. It's been our 'go-to' place for celebratory dinners, casual lunches, and drop-in, middle-of-the-week meals ever since. Their wine list is the best in Amarillo. They have great specials during the week if there are oenophiles like us, as in 50% off wines under $100 on Wednesdays. Tonight, that is what brought us in. Chris, an AMAZING waiter, and Rich, the resident sommelier, made our night extra-special when we were expecting a normal Wednesday meal, which would be awesome anyway. Rich brought us samples of a new bar drink concoction, also a wine that he'd opened and had a few ounces left which is one of the top-rated Napa Valley wines ever. He just always makes us feel special and we loved the samplings! The food was amazing as always. The filet my husband ordered was tender and very flavorful, and one of the best he's had in Amarillo. I had a chicken dish which they were nice to substitute the mashed potatoes for angel hair with a light cream sauce instead. The dessert, a hazelnut creme brûlée capped off the evening perfectly. We ordered a Hall merlot, thanks to Rich, which was perfect with our food. I cannot say enough about Mac Joes. Come eat at the best restaurant in Amarillo, with romantic atmosphere and truly great service. They match any great establishment in Dallas or Houston, in our opinion! And we've lived both places so we know!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinAmarillo, Owner at Macaroni Joes, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Sure makes me feel good that people know our staff names and they are interacting with people in this way, I have a Great staff here and we strive to make every dining experience a great one, thanks again. Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent meal & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stopped by last night for a nice meal before heading to hotel. Since I was alone I sat in the bar area, which had full-service dinner at the bar, as well as full-sized tables.
The wine list is very good, had an Argentinian Malbec- very nice.
Ordered Caesar salad which was average but had wonderful crostini croutons. Bread with garlic butter was good as well. Main entree was pan-seared Sea Bass, atop Parmesan orzo. Substituted Brussels sprouts for the asparagus. Fish was succulent, cooked just right & the orzo rich & creamy. The servings were not huge, but certainly very filling and presented nicely.
The service was excellent- the bartender very attentive & friendly. When we joked about being too full for dessert, I said that I would love a little chocolate, but only had room for about 3 M&Ms. A few minutes later, he presented me with a small dish of M&Ms! Nice touch!
Would definitely recommend this restaurant & I will return on my next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinAmarillo, Guest Relations Manager at Macaroni Joes, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Great to hear, Appreciate the feedback, glad to see them going the extra mile, I just cant believe there were any M & M's left in the office, they usually disappear fast. !!! M & M's forever on us Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macaroni Joes also viewed

 

Been to Macaroni Joes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macaroni Joes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.