We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling Apart” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1610 S Coulter Street, Amarillo, TX 79106-1771   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Falling Apart”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has certainly seen better days. The door to my room (219) wouldn't open on its own because it gets caught on carpet. The toilet did not initially flush; I fixed it. The tile in the bathroom is loose, and grinds on the rest of the tile while walking; you can feel it shift. The light switches work sometimes. The breakfast contained past-due yogurt and foul apple juice.

The only compliment I have is the room was clean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Adam B,

First, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. We will look into the issues stated above and get them promptly fixed. We do hope you consider giving us another chance on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    69
    62
    35
    27
See reviews for
80
72
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Came to Amarillo for a wedding and needed a clean, convenient and economical place to stay and the Best Western Medical Center fit the bill. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, the hotel was clean and the room spacious. The hotel is located by the intersection of I-40 and I-40 business on the western end of town and was a perfect centralized location for all we had to do for the time we spent in Amarillo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Paul B,

We're glad you had an exceptional stay and that everything was conveniently located for you, we do look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great staff. Very friendly and helpful! Room was great. Very clean and comfortable. I would recommend. You can pay more and get a whole lot less in Amarillo! The staff is eager to help and seeks to be of assistance. I was upgraded for free and the decor in the suite was new and really nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Cindy G,

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive for excellence and do look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The bed was so comfortable and the room very spacious. We found the two desk clerks to be very nice and helpful. The only negative that we found that the pool seemed not to be clean and the water was slimy. The hot tub could have worked better and the first step into the tub was very deep and would be dangerous with anyone with bad knees.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear marilyn f,

Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking to improve. We appreciate the concern about the hot tub and will definitely look for a solution. We're glad the rest of the stay was exceptional and look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We loved the of convenience of the hotel to the activities we wanted to do. The room was clean and comfortable. We had our little dog with us who seemed to be able to relax very well in the room. When we needed to stay there again a week later the staff kindly accommodated us with the same room.Thanks for the wonderful hospitality! We look forward to staying with you again when we pass through Texas!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Barbara G,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had an unexpectedly large and quite clean room. There was no traffic noise. The staff was courteous and knew their jobs. Breakfast included scrambled eggs and waffles - not just continental fare. This motel is underrated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We also thank you for taking time to review our hotel and let us know how we are doing. You be sure and come back to see us if you are through this way again. We will look forward to it. Take good care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The driveway is very steep and our moving truck became stuck, leaving half the truck in the road. We had to call the police to block traffic and a large tow truck. When I frantically told the front desk clerk, he shrugged and said this happens all the time, but there is a small, unlit sign saying the driveway is steep. Thankfully, the tow truck driver was very quick and said vehicles get stuck every few days in their parking lot.

When we finally made it to the room, it was dirty. The parking lot felt unsafe and someone was lurking around my vehicle. When I went outside to investigate, they took off and I moved my car near the front door.

I called Best Western International to complain, but have not heard back. A simple light on the sign or a hanging sign over the driveway would be an inexpensive fix and save a lot of trouble.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I am so sorry that your stay was unsatisfactory. Unfortunately, the driveway is something that cannot be changed easily, so we put out a large lighted sign there to direct you to our next entrance that is much easier for large vehicles. I do apologize that your room seemed unclean and will be addressing that with the housekeeping staff as well. Our neighborhood is very safe and we do not have break in and/or theft issues here. We do also patrol the parking lots about every hour just to be sure of that. Again, I do apologize that you were unhappy here and do sincerely hope you will give us another chance to give you the stay that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn

Address: 1610 S Coulter Street, Amarillo, TX 79106-1771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated with New Management! Upgraded property from top to bottom, come experience the friendliest service in Amarillo! We are conveniently located 1/2 mile North of Interstate 40 and in the Heart of the Harrington Regional Medical District. We offer a full range of amenities from our Indoor pool/hot tub, fitness center, HOT breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Medical Hotel Amarillo
Best Western Amarillo Hotel
Amarillo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Medical Center Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.