We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medical Center Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Medical Center Inn to your Saves list
Medical Center Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1610 S Coulter Street, Amarillo, TX 79106-1771 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Amarillo, United States
1 review
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very good location, friendly staff, adequate room. We were to have had a king non-smoking but apparently we couldn't have that room since we were traveling with our Golden Retriever. We were moved to a double queen room that smelled of smoke and felt unclean. We normally travel in our RV but if we travel to Amarillo again and stay in a hotel, it most likely won't be here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Gerald H

Thank you for your review and would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We will soon be going 100% non-smoking, as inconveniences such as these will not occur. We do hope to see you when this change has been established.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    69
    62
    35
    28
See reviews for
80
72
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grande, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After staying at this Best Western site, we found poor service to be the standard here. The refrigerator would not work along with the air conditioner. Both where broken and when we told the front desk nothing was done except to tell us that the hotel was sold out and we could not move to a different room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Their management does not care about good customer service. No one from this site has contacted us about their poor service and I am sure we will not hear from them. If we ever go back thru Amarillo TX we will pass this site by.

Room Tip: Stay away from this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Marton K

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower burrell
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was ok. Would I stay there again? No. We were driving back east from vacation and this was our stop for the night. Out of all the BW in Amarillo this one had the best reviews although none of them had that great of reviews. The room was shabby. The carpet desperately needed swept. We kept stepping on things including a piece of glass or something sharp. It was about 11pm and all we reay wanted to do was sleep but the air conditioner did not work well and every time it clicked off, it made a loud noise like there was a frog stuck in it. It did the job for one night but I wouldn't say I enjoyed it. The breakfast was fine, they usually are and the breakfast/kitchen help is always friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
auntLowerBurrell,

Thank you for your review and would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues. Cleanliness is top priority at our establishment and will not be taken lightly. We do hope you consider our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I ended up in this hotel after booking an "Express Deal" from Priceline. The room was supposed to be non-smoking. It even had a non-smoking sign on the door. However, when we opened the door, the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. We both have allergies, so we couldn't stay. I spoke to the gentleman at the front desk about our issue but he said he could not give us a different room because the hotel was full, and he could not give us a refund because we had booked through Priceline. We left the hotel without using the room and found a different place to stay. Later, I contacted Priceline about the problem but they would not provide a refund either. Live and learn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Josh B

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience on your arrival. I would recommend calling the hotel direct and we will be able to assure your room type. We do hope you will consider our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I spent one night at the motel last week(early July)and it was non-descript. First, the pool was freezing - that made no sense! When I told an employee(maybe a motel manager), she seemed ticked off that I questioned her about the pool. The continental breakfast is only served from 6 to 9 - that is too short of a time. The breakfast should be available to 10. The room was decent - not great but reasonably clean. The motel serves its purpose - nothing more.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
TDTX,

Thank you for your review. We are always trying to improve and will take your feedback into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in June 2013. Check in at the front desk was quick and very friendly, although they seemed to be having computer issues when I came in. Fortunately, the keys were already ready when I arrived. The lobby is small and there is even a gift shop off the lobby (I did not browse). There is an indoor pool off the lobby that unless I had kids with me, I would not want a room that is right outside the pool.

It is a two-story and there is no elevator. If you cannot climb the stairs with your luggage, ask for a first-floor room. The U-shaped layout of the motel is a bit odd. First floor rooms have doors that open directly to the outside. However, rooms on the second floor have doors that open onto an interior hallway. You may either face the interior of the U, looking onto the parking lot or you may face out. Ask where to park when checking in to make sure.

The room itself was a standard motel type room with the sink/vanity outside of the shower/toliet area, small open closet, bed, desk, flat screen TV and stand. There was also a microwave and mini-fridge which was very handy. The AC worked well and while it was noisy, it did help to drown out the incredible amount of noise that the room next door generated. Unfortunately, we had a connecting door that amplified the noise.

My biggest issue was the bed. We did not sleep well because the bed did not seem stable and therefore, any time one of us moved slightly, it really shook the entire bed. But, for one night, it was manageable. The location was slightly away from the highway and seemed a bit quieter than I was expecting for being right across the road from a hospital.

We did not get moving in time for the breakfast (it finishes at 9am) so I cannot comment on that aspect. The wifi worked well for me but husband had issues connecting. If you get a really good price, this isn't a bad option for one night in Amarillo.

Room Tip: The wind is pretty constant in Amarillo so if you want a quieter room, ask for one on the interior o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
lakeflyer,

Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review about our property. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you come back to try our hot breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Room was clean, beds were firm but comfortable, fairly quiet (air conditioner allows you to run fan continuously for white noise). Pool a bit on the cold side (indoor pool). Overall good value for the money. We ate at Joe Taco right next door which was pretty good (all day happy hour Saturday!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Bret A,

Thank you for a great positive review, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Medical Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medical Center Inn

Address: 1610 S Coulter Street, Amarillo, TX 79106-1771 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Medical Center Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated with New Management! Upgraded property from top to bottom, come experience the friendliest service in Amarillo! We are conveniently located 1/2 mile North of Interstate 40 and in the Heart of the Harrington Regional Medical District. We offer a full range of amenities from our Indoor pool/hot tub, fitness center, HOT breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Medical Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Medical Hotel Amarillo
Best Western Amarillo Hotel
Amarillo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medical Center Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.