We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Medical Center Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Medical Center Inn to your Saves list
Medical Center Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1610 S Coulter Street, Amarillo, TX 79106-1771 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Clayton, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a good experience...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

When I first called to book a night at this hotel I explained that we had someone in the hospital and that I didn't know when my husband and I would be checking out and they said as long as we let them know by noon than we would have that room still. Got there checked in, paid with cash as discussed with the receptionist. The next day I went in to pay for another night and she said we had already paid. I told her we had not paid. She said she would get it figured out and to come back in the morning. So we went to the hospital and didn't worry about it for right then. Got in about 8 pm and went to bed. Got a wake up call at 11 pm saying she figured out the problem and if we could pay right then. I was very upset at her waking us up at 11 pm. For being an honest person I got be woken up at 11 pm after an exhausting day at the hospital. Fun! We left on a Sunday (did not stay that extra night we told them we might have too) and I checked my bank statement the next night and they had charged me for Sunday night. I called them and they said that the maids reports showed that we had stuff in the room still so they wrote us down as still there even though our cards were there on the desk. I could not seem to get anywhere so I sent my husband cause he was back there seeing his dad in the hospital and same thing. They gave him the run around so he told them that he was on his way to the police station to report fraudulent charges and when he was on his way to the police station the hotel called him and said they would refund the money. The was yesterday and I have yet to see the money in my account. This might be a long fight.... Also- we took a dip in the pool and there seemed to be bleach instead of chlorine in the pool because it burned our eyes excessively and it bleached my husbands shorts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, General Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Let us start off by apologizing for all the misunderstanding, we have no excuse for the inconvenience brought to you and your husband. We will certainly place more training for our employees. We will certainly take care of the pool issue as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    69
    62
    35
    28
See reviews for
80
72
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stopped in late at night during an I 40 road trip without having a reservation. Hotel is on the far West side of town just off the freeway. No issue getting checked in and up to room. However, as soon as I opened the door a blast od heat hit me. I checked the thermostat, and it was se to 90 degrees. It took me having to open the windows to get the room to comfortable temp as I was sweating with how it was. Room was clean...did find a few long hairs in the sink, and being that I'm nearly bald, I knew they weren't mine. Bed was comfortable and I slept great. Standard breakfast for a Best Western. Did find it funny that the waffle maker was in the shape of Texas.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your response and want to apologize for the few miscues on our end. The right people will be notified and get those issues resolved. We are always trying to improve and appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next road trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The price for this hotel was reasonable enough, however it was kind of rough around the edges. The walls are definitely thin and there was a strange smell around the area (although not inside the building). The bathroom tub groaned when you got in, which was pretty disconcerting on the second floor. Bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate the feedback and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we checked out a couple of Motels in Amarillo and finally decided we have to look online for prices - we found a very good deal for the Best Western and we liked our stay there.
rooms are usally good at the Best Western anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate your business and glad you found us online!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Clean, warm rooms, friendly check in clerk, quiet location but not far from restaurants or shopping. Walls are thin though so you can hear your neighbors if they are noisy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for around $40 one night on the way from Denver to San Antonio. The room was larger than normal, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was included and had more options than a basic continental breakfast. There was a Mexican restaurant next door that was a step above the average Tex-Mex restaurant. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and our special offer for the month. Look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Directly across the street from the medical complexes making it very convenient. The staff was exceptionally friendly and adept. Room was clean and had all necessary amenities. Provided full breakfast each morning.

Walls are a bit thin, you can hear adjoining room occupant's movements. Could be a problem if you are a light sleeper, which I am not. So for me, not a problem. It was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Medical Center Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We certainly appreciate the positive review, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Medical Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medical Center Inn

Address: 1610 S Coulter Street, Amarillo, TX 79106-1771 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Medical Center Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated with New Management! Upgraded property from top to bottom, come experience the friendliest service in Amarillo! We are conveniently located 1/2 mile North of Interstate 40 and in the Heart of the Harrington Regional Medical District. We offer a full range of amenities from our Indoor pool/hot tub, fitness center, HOT breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Medical Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Medical Hotel Amarillo
Best Western Amarillo Hotel
Amarillo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medical Center Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.