We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9401 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
PA, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here on our cross-country trip with a dog and two year old. New hotel it seems as the rooms were modern and the bathrooms were clean and not worn down. $25 pet fee if you have a dog/cat. Breakfast in the morning was your usually hotel stuff, nothing to complain about. Easy access to the interstate. Would stay here again if passing through. A little pricy for what you get as we paid $150 for our one night for a two queen room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    31
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
28
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Your typical HIE experience. Went down stairs for breakfast at a quarter to 6 and most of it was already being served. Which to me a huge plus even though they state it's not ready till 6:30. Read a previous comment where they stated about water from the shower ending up on the floor. This is true.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As we have traveled across the US and back, we find ourselves booking Holiday Inn Express rooms for our overnight stops. We like the newness of mist if the locations and the beautifully appointed rooms. This location we had a suite which is a regular room with a 10x10 area between the sleeping area and the bath area with a sofa and tables. The room was very clean and had ample room with the extra area. Big screen TV, mini-fridge and a mini bar with sink. Plush carpeting, plush bedding, quality furnishings. Bath was done in high end tile and granite. Bath was appointed with Kohler appliances. The room was very quiet. This location had a laundry facility on the second and third floors which was a much needed perk as we needed to use these facilities. The washer on the second floor was out of order so we had to use the one on the third floor. Staff was helpful and accommodating. The mini-fridge did not have a small freezer compartment. We required this to freeze freezer packs to keep diabetic medications cold. This was the second IR third Holiday Inn location that did not have a freezer in the mini-fridge. The front desk was able to store the packs for us in a freezer. The room came with free WiFi and it worked great. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet was included. It was mostly the same as all the other locations. Scrambled eggs, sausage patsy, chipped beef, variety if toasts, bagels and muffins along with cereals. The scrambled eggs at this location were done in omelet style with some sort of Texmex goop inside. This needs to change as not everyone staying there likes Texmex. Just serve them plain as all the other locations do.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time as many locations in Amarillo were booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. Beautifully decorated. Clean. Bathroom in our room was AWFUL. Shower curtain did not cover the opening and water leaked all across the floor.....during each of our four showers. We clean up after ourselves whenever we stay at a hotel, but this was MAJOR work that should not have been necessary. Pool was wonderful. Breakfast too. Just inconsistent among all areas.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Christine W,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback about the friendly staff and cleanliness of the hotel, and we are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and pool area. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings regarding the bathroom quality. I have forwarded your concerns with the respective departments for appropriate action, and ensure that similar situations will be avoided.

Your feedback is very important to us as this helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We do hope you would consider staying with us again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

1st plus is that they are pet friendly. Very nice comfortable room. I had been traveling with my granddaughter, 5 , and she was very pleased with the pool and spa :-) She ( like many 5 year olds) is an honest cretic. Being and IHG club member , If you aren't I would recommend you become, I got late check out ( 2pm) so she could enjoy her stay and the pool. The room was very clean and pleasant. The only reason I didn't rate EXCELLENT is because I didn't eat the free breakfast buffet. I was to tired from traveling and the beds were to comfortable to get out of LoL :-) The price was very,very reasonable 129$ with pet. Again IHG membership was able to get me a better price. The staff were very friendly and helpful and non robotic. I will definitely be using this hotel again and would high recommend it to anyone. Plus, if you are traveling with family for fun everyone usually "eats&runs" so by 10 or 11 you and your family could possibly have place to yourselves. Like we did :-) Enjoy them and make memories

Room Tip: Ask for a back side room as to avoid any possible road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

En route to Oklahoma, our 2nd and final night of a 1400+ mile road trip after a 8 hour drive from Las Cruces, NM. I use Holiday Inn's and IHG properties when I can. This did not disappoint, familiar quality, service and hospitality. Right off I-40 and easy access to food, gas and other businesses we had a great stopover. Kudo's to staff who had a color board with our name indicating us as VIP Customers.

Room Tip: Amazing that our room was ground floor on the I-40 side of the hotel. Quiet as ever, good soundproo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Proximity to airport is nice. Check in was simple and quick.
I can see this hotel being an issue if you don't have a vehicle. Its only within walking distance of one restaurant (buffalo wild wings) and a couple gas stations. There are no sidewalks, no places to walk.
My room was clean, I did not have any issues with the water temperature. I may try a different HI Express in town the next time I'm there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Jeff K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Address: 9401 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Amarillo Hotel Offers Convenient Location Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of East Amarillo, located within a mile of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport (AMA). Our East Amarillo hotel's location off I-40 offers close proximity to businesses and medical centers as well as area attractions. You can take the family for a day of fun at Wonderland Amusement Park, just 10 miles from our Amarillo hotel, or visit Splash Amarillo, a water park just three miles from our Amarillo accommodations. If you're more in the mood for shopping, the Westgate Mall is only 10 miles away. Amarillo offers attractions for nature lovers as well, and you can check out Palo Duro Canyon or Historic Route 66. Lodging in our Amarillo Airport hotel while in town for business means you have an ideal location close to the airport, and also easy access to area businesses and medical centers such as Medical Center Coulter Street, Wells Fargo and Northwest Texas Hospital. Our hotel in Amarillo has a meeting room with 1,000 sq. ft. of space, offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience and provides a 24-hour Business Center. Stay Smart at our Amarillo Airport hotel and wake up to the complimentary, hot breakfast bar. You can relax in a triple-sheeted bed while you surf the web with free high-speed Internet access. Check out our East Amarillo airport hotel's deals and rates today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo East
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.