We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9401 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Quiet Rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Decided to stay here instead of being in town. Room was spaceous, large flat-screened TV, great wireless, and the bed was wonderful.

One recommendation for their breakfast lounge; provide some fresh fruit (apples, bananas) along with the hot/cold foods.

Shout-out to Denise who worked the desk on Sunday November 17. Wonderful staff member making me feel welcomed after 5.5 hour drive.

Room Tip: The back rooms are away from the interstate but near a RR track. Not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nohemi_Castillo01, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello George B.

Thank You for the great review, I will definitely pass that "Shout-out" to our front desk clerk "Denise" it makes us happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel! Hope to see You again on your next stop in Amarillo, Best Wishes Nohemi Castillo, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
30
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee, OK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped here on our way to New Mexico and to meet a friend. The hotel was very nice, clean, and the beds were soft. We ate at Big Texan, just down the road, and it was within 1 mile of the hotel. They also had a beautiful pool area that we enjoyed after a long day on the road. Would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We had a suite, which was very comfortable and had great for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

No booking, just passing though, but we were glad we stayed. Although its not in town, it is not too far from anything. The beds were equal to the beds at Caesars Palace, where we stayed the week before - cloud soft!! So comfy it was like being at home. The staff were so friendly but really undersold how cool their town was! Big legs, combine harvesters, Cadillac ranch, canyon..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose this new Holiday Inn Express specifically for its location close to our Amarillo activities, but primarily for its indoor pool and hot tub. The pool and hot tub were great -- ample and well designed (the hot tub alone was the size of some swimming pools) with the feel of a resort area and not a chain hotel, but the floor tiles were slippery enough to be dangerous (especially on one side, where the floor slopes). And the hours were too restrictive. C'mon, folks, you know your travelers want to take advantage of the pool before 10 am! The breakfast was about average. But the room itself was spacious, clean, and comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was a new HIE, but a few quirks. The pool and hot tub didn't open until 10 a.m.
As a HIE platinum member, I often want a dip and a soak to start the day. Most are usually open at 7 a.m. Some even at 6 a.m. Not here. And the tile by the pool was very slippery. All of us fell down there.

Other things: The breakfast was dry --even the cinnamon rolls--at 7 a.m., not very fresh.
The shower curtain did a pretty bad job at keeping the water in.

Last, but not least, and this is a real nitpick. All of the lobby art was Gondolas and water taxis in Europe. Why in Amarillo? On I-40, the heart of the West, gondolas?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear wtxtraveler,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and providing feedback. It is a great pleasure to read you found our hotel clean. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the hotel amenities, quality of breakfast and hotel decor which was less than satisfactory. We will use the valuable feedback you’ve provided to further improve our products and service. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is one of the nicest HIE's we've ever stayed in. Felt like a luxurious top of the line hotel. Can't say enough nice things about this place. Our room was stunning. Two nice comfortable queen beds, desk, alcove with sofa, coffee table, round eating table with two chairs, fridge, microwave & sink, plus a nice large bathroom. Had a really great night's sleep, too! Staff was great. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express ranks #2 of the MANY Holiday Inns I've stayed in throughout the world....With #1 being in Spokane Valley, Washington and the WORST being a toss-up between the "arm-pit of the Bay of Campeche" in Ciudad Del Carmen, Mexico AND the war-torn Sarajevo, Bosnia

It's proximity to the Amarillo Airport makes it convenient. The employees were pleasant when I checked in and the room was already nice and cool when I opened the door. The bed was as comfortable as any I'd fine in a 5 star hotel but it would be nice if they would change out the softened worn pillows labeled "firm" with pillows that are truly firm...BUT if that is the biggest gripe, they're doing a great job here! Everything else about this hotel is "typical" and not above nor below what one expects in a Holiday Inn Express. I would definitely stay here again when passing through Amarillo, Texas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Address: 9401 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Amarillo Hotel Offers Convenient Location Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of East Amarillo, located within a mile of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport (AMA). Our East Amarillo hotel's location off I-40 offers close proximity to businesses and medical centers as well as area attractions. You can take the family for a day of fun at Wonderland Amusement Park, just 10 miles from our Amarillo hotel, or visit Splash Amarillo, a water park just three miles from our Amarillo accommodations. If you're more in the mood for shopping, the Westgate Mall is only 10 miles away. Amarillo offers attractions for nature lovers as well, and you can check out Palo Duro Canyon or Historic Route 66. Lodging in our Amarillo Airport hotel while in town for business means you have an ideal location close to the airport, and also easy access to area businesses and medical centers such as Medical Center Coulter Street, Wells Fargo and Northwest Texas Hospital. Our hotel in Amarillo has a meeting room with 1,000 sq. ft. of space, offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience and provides a 24-hour Business Center. Stay Smart at our Amarillo Airport hotel and wake up to the complimentary, hot breakfast bar. You can relax in a triple-sheeted bed while you surf the web with free high-speed Internet access. Check out our East Amarillo airport hotel's deals and rates today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo East
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.