We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic HIE with a few downsides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9401 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fantastic HIE with a few downsides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose this new Holiday Inn Express specifically for its location close to our Amarillo activities, but primarily for its indoor pool and hot tub. The pool and hot tub were great -- ample and well designed (the hot tub alone was the size of some swimming pools) with the feel of a resort area and not a chain hotel, but the floor tiles were slippery enough to be dangerous (especially on one side, where the floor slopes). And the hours were too restrictive. C'mon, folks, you know your travelers want to take advantage of the pool before 10 am! The breakfast was about average. But the room itself was spacious, clean, and comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    35
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
53
32
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was a new HIE, but a few quirks. The pool and hot tub didn't open until 10 a.m.
As a HIE platinum member, I often want a dip and a soak to start the day. Most are usually open at 7 a.m. Some even at 6 a.m. Not here. And the tile by the pool was very slippery. All of us fell down there.

Other things: The breakfast was dry --even the cinnamon rolls--at 7 a.m., not very fresh.
The shower curtain did a pretty bad job at keeping the water in.

Last, but not least, and this is a real nitpick. All of the lobby art was Gondolas and water taxis in Europe. Why in Amarillo? On I-40, the heart of the West, gondolas?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear wtxtraveler,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and providing feedback. It is a great pleasure to read you found our hotel clean. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the hotel amenities, quality of breakfast and hotel decor which was less than satisfactory. We will use the valuable feedback you’ve provided to further improve our products and service. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is one of the nicest HIE's we've ever stayed in. Felt like a luxurious top of the line hotel. Can't say enough nice things about this place. Our room was stunning. Two nice comfortable queen beds, desk, alcove with sofa, coffee table, round eating table with two chairs, fridge, microwave & sink, plus a nice large bathroom. Had a really great night's sleep, too! Staff was great. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express ranks #2 of the MANY Holiday Inns I've stayed in throughout the world....With #1 being in Spokane Valley, Washington and the WORST being a toss-up between the "arm-pit of the Bay of Campeche" in Ciudad Del Carmen, Mexico AND the war-torn Sarajevo, Bosnia

It's proximity to the Amarillo Airport makes it convenient. The employees were pleasant when I checked in and the room was already nice and cool when I opened the door. The bed was as comfortable as any I'd fine in a 5 star hotel but it would be nice if they would change out the softened worn pillows labeled "firm" with pillows that are truly firm...BUT if that is the biggest gripe, they're doing a great job here! Everything else about this hotel is "typical" and not above nor below what one expects in a Holiday Inn Express. I would definitely stay here again when passing through Amarillo, Texas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Driving cross country with a 16 foot trailer and a Truck loaded to GVWR, finding the right place to stay has been the morale-booster of each 600 mile leg of our cross-continental journey. This holiday inn is both aesthetically pleasing and clean while offering quality amenities (indoor pool with waterfall and Jacuzzi hot tub) and being the only local holiday inn that extends their hospitality to our four-legged family members. There is a like-home feeling back yard for you to play fetch with your pet, as well as a gym to keep from getting high-way 'soft'. Our room was spacious, clean, and boasted an exceptionally high-pressure shower head (personal favorite) that could blast the rust off a WWII battleship. Having stayed in a La Quinta before tonight, it's safe to say that Holiday Inn Express has earned tomorrow night's stop. DOD/ Military members: they are accommodating to the Per-Diem rate as well, which comes out to be approximately 50% of the standard room rate.... making this quality a steal. Thanks for setting a high standard and making us not cringe at the idea of spending the night away from home.

Room Tip: there are approximately 36 rooms per floor, if you get a low number (ie 207) youll be a short stroll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a day trip to the Canyon. We decided to stay near the airport as the airlines misplaced our luggage and needed to be close for delivery. Is a 2 minute drive to the airport and 30 minutes to the Canyon.

Very comfortable stay and room. Seems new. Staff all friendly and attentive. Breakfast variety was good too. Standard Holiday Inn Express...my kids love the hot cinnamon rolls and the pancake maker.:-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Tx
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I hope I've got the right hotel but this one is fairly new and was a little more expensive than the other one on Interstate 40. I loved this hotel from the moment we walked in. It looked new. The room where they serve breakfast was very upscale with comfortable furniture. It almost looked formal. Our room was very clean and fresh and welcoming! It had a refrigerator and microwave and coffee bar. The shower was great and the lighting was great. I wish I could have stayed longer. I know I will pick this hotel when going thru Amarillo again. Breakfast was OK. I just don't like the cheese omelets but everything else was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 69 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#24 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
11.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Address: 9401 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Amarillo Hotel Offers Convenient Location Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of East Amarillo, located within a mile of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport (AMA). Our East Amarillo hotel's location off I-40 offers close proximity to businesses and medical centers as well as area attractions. You can take the family for a day of fun at Wonderland Amusement Park, just 10 miles from our Amarillo hotel, or visit Splash Amarillo, a water park just three miles from our Amarillo accommodations. If you're more in the mood for shopping, the Westgate Mall is only 10 miles away. Amarillo offers attractions for nature lovers as well, and you can check out Palo Duro Canyon or Historic Route 66. Lodging in our Amarillo Airport hotel while in town for business means you have an ideal location close to the airport, and also easy access to area businesses and medical centers such as Medical Center Coulter Street, Wells Fargo and Northwest Texas Hospital. Our hotel in Amarillo has a meeting room with 1,000 sq. ft. of space, offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience and provides a 24-hour Business Center. Stay Smart at our Amarillo Airport hotel and wake up to the complimentary, hot breakfast bar. You can relax in a triple-sheeted bed while you surf the web with free high-speed Internet access. Check out our East Amarillo airport hotel's deals and rates today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo East
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.