We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9401 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 66 hotels in Amarillo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling to Colorado and needed to rest. This by far was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. Beautiful and welcoming, staff was fantastic. Especially the Front Desk Agent, Aaron. Her smile and friendliness was so heart warming. Haven't seen great customer service like that in such a long time.
We know where we'll stay every time we travel through Amarillo.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    28
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
26
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

On this occasion, my late night front desk check-in experience was so pleasant. If all hotel employees were so nice, travel could become an enjoyable experience. I hope that the people that run this franchise know how valuable their good help is, because my next review isn't very good. Same hotel chain, very different story.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind review!! We really try to spread our Texas Style Hospitality and Friendliness around!! Thanks for staying with us and Thank you for taking the time to post a review!!! Matthew Atchley GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was really impressed by this hotel. I also really enjoyed our spacious, clean room. I was not expecting such a nice hotel in Amarillo but it was really awesome! We felt extremely safe and it was a very quiet. I'd definitely stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
JuJuBean,
Thank you for the nice review!! We LOVE hearing that our guests loved their stay! We really do try to Create Great Hotels Love! We hope to see you soon! Thanks for the review!! Matthew Atchley GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I appreciated the quick and easy checking after arriving late. Room was clean, quiet, and well maintained. I appreciate the fresh smell of the room, ahhh! Febreeze! Bed was comfortable with the soft and firm pillows available. Breakfast good with real eggs, two kinds of sausage, bisquits and gravy. Coffee hot and fresh!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
WildcatMom,
Thank you for the review! Febreeze, our secret weapon! We love the way it works too! Thank you for taking notice of our variety of breakfast selection!! Guests asked for a larger selection and we responded! Hope to see you again! GOOOOO WILDCATS! Matthew Atchley GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

So. . . this is a review from the perspective of a business traveler. Two thumbs up!

The hotel was close to the airport, easy to locate and had plenty of free parking (Amarillo!).

It was relatively new and well appointed - slab granite in the bathrooms, 37 inch flat screen TV, nice mattress/bedding with both soft and firm pillows.

WiFi internet worked seemlessly THROUGHOUT the hotel with no reconnection required. My corporate VPN worked perfectly with no timeouts.

Staff was attentive and helpful! The front desk attendant even helped me print some documents after I had challenges with the FREE printer in the business center.

I will certainly book here again on future business trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
TexasHornsFan,
Thanks for the two thumbs up!! We give you two thumbs up for staying with us!! We appreciate that a corporate traveler such as yourself can appreciate our hotel! Thanks for staying with us. Thanks for the wonderful review! We hope to see you soon! Matthew Atchley GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

When we need a motel while on the road, we like Holiday Inn Express. They are clean, newer and you always know what to expect (in a good way). This Holiday Inn Express on the east side of Amarillo is right off of I-40 and convenient, yet quiet. It also has suites, which we used on 2 different occassions. We enjoyed it both times. Breakfast was the usual but had lots of choices. It was also close to a couple of restaurants.

Room Tip: They do allow dogs in the room, which I do not approve of but if you are traveling with a dog, you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Mooch99,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you liked the location and how quiet it is here! We are proud to offer a non smoking hotel and our guests seem to love it too! Select rooms are available that pets have not stayed in for those sensitive to our furry friends. See you soon! Thanks for the review!! Matthew Atchley GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Extremely clean. When we checked in Blanca was on the front desk alone. We were beat. From the beginning she was SUPERB! She had us checked in to a great spotless room and we were VERY COMFORTABLE. All we needed were a few extra wash rags. I went out to the front desk and now Blanca was very busy. Her first opportunity, which was a matter of seconds, she smiled, asked my concern, and immediately provided me with the supplies I requested. The room was immaculate, very affordable, and I would DEFINITELY stay there without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
F C,
Thank you for the review! We will be sure to pass along the kind words you had for Blanca! We are super happy you stayed with us!! :o) See you soon! Matthew Atchley GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Address: 9401 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 66 hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Amarillo Hotel Offers Convenient Location Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of East Amarillo, located within a mile of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport (AMA). Our East Amarillo hotel's location off I-40 offers close proximity to businesses and medical centers as well as area attractions. You can take the family for a day of fun at Wonderland Amusement Park, just 10 miles from our Amarillo hotel, or visit Splash Amarillo, a water park just three miles from our Amarillo accommodations. If you're more in the mood for shopping, the Westgate Mall is only 10 miles away. Amarillo offers attractions for nature lovers as well, and you can check out Palo Duro Canyon or Historic Route 66. Lodging in our Amarillo Airport hotel while in town for business means you have an ideal location close to the airport, and also easy access to area businesses and medical centers such as Medical Center Coulter Street, Wells Fargo and Northwest Texas Hospital. Our hotel in Amarillo has a meeting room with 1,000 sq. ft. of space, offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience and provides a 24-hour Business Center. Stay Smart at our Amarillo Airport hotel and wake up to the complimentary, hot breakfast bar. You can relax in a triple-sheeted bed while you surf the web with free high-speed Internet access. Check out our East Amarillo airport hotel's deals and rates today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo East
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.