We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, clean, well-kept - very pet-friendly (expect barking)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8540 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79124   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austria - Europe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Big, clean, well-kept - very pet-friendly (expect barking)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This Drury is a midscale hotel with some floors. It’s children- and petfriendly, located at the western end of town, right beside I-40. You can park all around the hotel, in the back you will have shadow in the afternoon heat. Various restaurants like a steak house, Furrs and some shops on this side of the Interstate can easily be reached by walking. On the opposite side of the Interstate is Amarillos Shopping Mall.

The lobby is hugh and separated into more intimate spaces with bright wooden furniture. Check in at front desk was quick, the elevators are located close by. In the back of the building you will find fitness room and small indoor pool with jacuzzi. Towels provided.

One part of the lobby is a small business booth with 2 computers. Another part of the lobby is for dining with lots of tables and chairs. Every evening between 5:30 and 7 there is a “kick-back”, they provide hot food as fried chicken, meatballs, hot dogs, fresh salad and vegetables with dip and more. All beverages including alcoholic ones are free during this time. Expect the place to be booked on Saturday, so you will find many guests in the lobby eating and chatting.

Breakfast was good, providing waffles, french toast, eggs and ham, cereals, fruit and more. Carpets in dining section are not very clean, as there are many children staying at this hotel and they get free popcorn.

We’d decided to book a room with veranda. Most of those rooms are facing the northern side of the hotel, which is quiet as away from the Interstate and there is more shadow. Though it was not really worth the money – as they even do not have 1 chair you can put on that veranda. You might carry out the heavy desk chair, but what for your room mate?
Amarillo is a very windy place as well and so I would not opt for the veranda if I were you (rooms with more cost).

Room though was spacious and we spent 3 nights here. We got a 2 queen room that was furnished with desk and chair, sofachair, cupboard with TV and built-in fridge and microwave, 3 lamps, nightstand. Internet is wireless and you get an extra cable. It’s very comfortable to have the desk for working on the computer! Beds were very comfortable, enough pillows provided.

The small entrance hall of the room with door leading to bathroom and a built-in wardrobe with ironing equipment ist tiled, the rest of the room has carpets.

The bathroom seemed newly tiled, was spacious and clean, with tub, sink and toilet, curved curtain and soap and shampoo (no bodymilk).

It is a comfortable spacious place, roomrates start around 90. I would recommend though there are some cons.

One of the cons is: before booking Drury Inn Amarillo think about pets. If you do not want to share your hotel with dogs, stay away. Many people are accompanied by their dogs that you might meet in every public space of the hotel.

We were unlucky one late evening – as for nearly 1 hour a dog was barking in one of the adjacent rooms, the keepers had gone out and left the animal unwatched. In this hour you had no chance to go to sleep. You might hear the one or other dog bark at any time anyway. This was the part of the stay that disappointed me though I love animals.

The rooms with veranda are close to the elevators and you will have more noise from people going by than if you take a room at the end of the corridors. Vending and icemachines are right beside the elevators as well.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, if management would decide to use separate floors for people with and without dogs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimChappell, eMarketing Specialist at Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Thank you so much for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed so many of the great amenities at our location, all of which are included at no additional charge to our guests. We would like to apologize for the noise you heard from a dog in a nearby room. Drury Hotels look at guests and their pets all as one, big family and as such, when city codes allow, pets are welcome at Drury Hotels. We do our best to ask that pet owners notify us that they have their furry family member traveling with them, and we then discuss ways to make their stay, as well as our other guests, peaceful and quiet. We are very sorry that there was an animal near your room that caused noise issues. Should this ever happen again, please contact any of our desk agents, who will address the issue with the pet owner so that everyone may have an enjoyable stay. Thank you again for staying with us in Amarillo, and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    119
    36
    13
    14
See reviews for
166
99
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Clean outside and in, efficient staff , food quality quite good, decent price for the stay and good location for travelers. Room was well equipped, comfortable mattress, liked the comforters...white, no hiding any stains or dirt on these. These motels seem to be consistently good. We will definitely be back again on our way back to west coast. If you ''have' to stay in Amarillo, this would be a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Room was clean, pool was nice, staff was sweet, breakfast was one of my favorite commercial hotel chain breakfast ever. The eggs and sausage were fresh, not greasy. Good place to stay in Amarillo. Close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We met family members (with young children) and stayed for 2 days. The place was very clean and the desk help was friendly. We enjoyed the pool and meals. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

I have heard so many good things about Drury Inns and this hotel was no exception. I was traveling across the country with 3 kids and a small dog. I really wanted to stay in a nicer hotel, not just a motel type because of my pet. This hotel does not charge a pet fee, simply sign a waiver with your cell phone listed in case of barking. Since I didn't have to spend $15+ on a pet fee, I didn't mind spending around $100 on the room.
Best stay ever with my kids and pet. Best things were: the large bathroom, comfortable bed, Amazing breakfast, helpful staff, and beautiful hotel overall.
The only thing I found I didn't like was the flooring in the pool area was very slippery when wet. Had to constantly tell the kids to WALK SLOWLY.
If we come back this way, we'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We just stayed one evening but the rooms were very clean. We had adjoining rooms and had our dogs with us. It was a quiet hotel and had a nice dining/bar facility. They give each guest dining/bar tickets so you are allowed to eat in the dining/bar area free including drinks. Very nice and would do it again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

This hotel is beautiful & clean with a very friendly staff. The breakfast is very good. We did not eat dinner there, but it looked good also. The only thing I was not satisfied with was the pool & hot tub. The pool was cold and the hot tub has only 1 jet per person and they are located very, very low. It is a total waste of time to get in that thing. That was disappointing as we were very tired & were looking forward to relaxing in the hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo

Address: 8540 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79124
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#5 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Located minutes from the Palo Duro Canyon State Park and Cadillac Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Hotels.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Amarillo
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Drury Inn Amarillo
Drury Inn Hotel Amarillo
Drury Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.