We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 6th Floor Has a Smoking Wing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8540 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79124   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The 6th Floor Has a Smoking Wing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just wanted to point that out since the person who checked us in failed to let me know. I'm not a smoker and ended up on the 6th floor non smoking section. It's a great room and all if you can just ignore the stale smoke smell when you get off the elevator. Once you get to the non smoking wing, it's terrific.

Rooms were fine. We price lined it. Got a good rate.

Breakfast was hot and expansive.

Hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: Very quiet away from the cars. 6th Floor has a smoking wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esanjays96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Whether it is a compliment or a complaint I love to hear from our guests, as we use your comments to help improve our product and services. Half of our six floor is reserved for our smoking guests, and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We treat that floor daily with an odor eliminator but the smell is still there, as you experienced. I am happy to hear that the non-smoking section was terrific! I look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.

Sincerely,
Maggie Vaughan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
ontario
Level Contributor
225 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

as soon as we walked into the lobby we knew we made a great choice. The counter person greeted us with a smile and very friendly. I knew we get free breakfast but to our surprise there was happy hour every night. This was not you plain nachos and wine. This was full meal of pasta and three glasses of wine each. We saved about 75 dollars by not going out for dinner. The rooms were very quiet and confortable. Don't consider any other hotel as this is the best choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justustravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Allows pets, they had an extensive breakfast buffet, evening snacks (and drinks), and right off the freeway. It was clean, the bathroom had toiletries, and the staff was very friendly.

Prior to this visit, I had not heard of Drury Inn, but I'll definitely consider them for my future travels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Best hotel for the price. Located right off I-40, your day starts with a free full breakfast and includes later includes a free happy hour (actually 2 hours).

The rooms are spacious. Swimming pool for the kids. Many restaurants nearby and across the highway from the mall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on April 3, 2014 and it renewed my faith in hospitality in Amarillo. I had a disastrous stay the week before at the Hilton Amarillo and was actually thinking of changing my route back home to avoid Amarillo all together, but I'm glad I didn't or I would have missed this gem! The facility was immaculate the pool and hot tub were great after several hours in the car. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. They offer free popcorn and sodas in the evening on top of a happy hour ( we missed unfortunately). The beds were comfortable and the rooms very clean and bathrooms too! Breakfast in the morning is a hot breakfast eggs, sausage, biscuits gravy and muffins etc. would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Amarillo! Thank You!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tjanangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Drury Inn when we came to Amarillo for a funeral. We had to bring my 8lb poodle but they are pet friendly so it worked out well.

Because they had no first floor rooms they gave us a suite at the same price. With three adults it was perfect. It was clean and neat. The elevators were close and quick so taking the dog out was never a big deal. There are lots of grassy areas around too.

They serve a great breakfast but also serve a meal at night. When we were there it was hot dogs, baked potatoes, two pasta dishes, soup, salad, two kinds of chips and they serve drinks too. This is all free.

I've never stayed at a Drury Inn before but based on this experience I will definitely check them out when I go somewhere that has one.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arkansas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have stayed at this location many times and each time a 5 star experience, until tonight. We checked in, dropped our luggage, and went out for dinner. Returning to the hotel around 8:30pm we noticed a pit bull and blue healer in the lobby. No big deal, right? Wrong. There were so many dogs in the hotel it was unreal. The barking up and down the hall on our floor made it impossible for us to stay. We have been traveling all day and have another 6-7 hour drive tomorrow. We're exhausted. The clerk at the front desk was understanding and polite but the situation was out if her hands. We loaded back up and headed to a nearby hotel with a no pet policy.
P.S. We have 3 dogs or our own. We love dogs but this is out is control.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juju4RmTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. All of our Drury Hotels are pet friendly. We may experience more pets at times, as Amarillo is on the way to many destination cities. We have special procedures in place so that our rooms and grounds remain clean and well maintained.

I apologize that our hotel did not meet your needs. I hope you will give us another chance to serve your lodging needs in the future.

Sincerely,
Maggie V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 69 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo

Address: 8540 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#5 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Located minutes from the Palo Duro Canyon State Park and Cadillac Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Drury Inn And Suites Amarillo
Drury Inn Amarillo
Drury Inn Hotel Amarillo
Drury Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing