We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2806 Woflin Avenue, Amarillo, TX 79109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Spent the night on a business trip. Didn't check in until 10:00pm but the check-in process was very fast because I had a reservation.
I had a 2-Queen room and the selection of stations on the tv was plenty. Wifi connectivity was good and the speed of the internet was also good.
The pillow top bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious, shower was good with plenty of water pressure.
Breakfast was the standard HIEX menu of sausage, bacon, gravy....
I Would stay here again if the need came up again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    53
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
55
51
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We did a one-night stay and picked this HIE as we had stayed here years ago. As with all HIE's we have visited, the bedding & pillows were very nice. Amenities were well stocked and all was as expected. Nice, clean, and friendly staff.

One thing we noticed at this HIE is how much we would hear in the hallway and rooms next door. We were on the 2nd floor 2nd room from the end. We could clearly hear conversations in the rooms on either side of us. Hallway sounds seemed as though our door was not even closed.

This is unusual compared to the many other HIE's we have stayed at recently. We probably would choose one of the newer places in town the next time we are passing through.

Room Tip: For this hotel - an end unit?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Wow, this Holiday Inn spoiled us! Super soft beds (very high off the ground), fridge, microwave, mini-sink...this place is great! I would have liked a little more space for an extra chair, but that's my only complaint. Pool was great, spa was excellent. Breakfast was GREAT! The gravy was a little runny, but for a free spread, this was pretty awesome. They had cereal, yogurt, little milk boxes (regular and chocolate), fruit, pastries, eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, toast, muffins, juice, coffee, hot cocoa...so much included with our stay. We're spoiled rotten now and compare every Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express to this location! I wish we were going back so we could stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a quick stay here. It was very nice, quiet, and comfterable. The sheets were nice and clean, beds were very comfterable. The only thing that was gross was the pool. It had very gross things on the bottom of the hot tub. It seemed like it had been cleaned in a couple of months. other than that our stay was great!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and no smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was a clean, nice hotel. The employees were helpful, competent, and friendly. They had comfortable pillow top beds. I would stay here again. Breakfast eggs and bacon were cold. Nice place for travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel is very well located, it's close to the highway. It's a quite new building, the rooms have a comfortable bathroom and are very spacious. Everywhere was clean and new, the breakfast area was nice and the service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I did a very positive review of this hotel several years ago and we've returned several times. However, we stayed recently and although the hotel is still clean and well maintained, the service was not as helpful and friendly as the five other hotels we've visited this past month. When we are on a long road trip, we request in advance a quiet location as we have long days driving and generally leave early. We made this request before arriving and were assured they would accommodate us. When we arrived, however, we were put in the room just off the elevators near the ice machine. When we went back to the front desk and reminded the person of our request, she said we were "too late" to give us a better location. I definitely understand a request by a customer may not be possible but in light of the fact it was only 5PM and we watched at least 5-7 other individuals with luggage waiting to be checked in, it seemed a 'lame excuse'...particularly since we called in advance with our request. As it turned out, the room worked out fine but the attitude and lack of helpfulness was disappointing. On our return trip we opted to reserve at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West and it was great. Both hotels I understand have the same ownership with the Amarillo West being very new. Either hotel is a good choice for cleanliness and quality but we'll definitely opt for the Amarillo West as our first choice simply because the staff friendliness and helpfulness was exceptional, and the individual we met at this hotel was not. Granted we all have an 'off' day but many customers have had the same type day and are paying to use your facilities so if you're running the front desk, at least 'act' helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear GrandFan13,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo

Address: 2806 Woflin Avenue, Amarillo, TX 79109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#6 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo, Texas, home of the American Quarter Horse headquarters and Museum. Our Amarillo hotel is centrally located just 3 miles from downtown, the medical center and Westgate Mall. We feature stylish executive suites and spacious standard rooms. All rooms come fully equipped with a microwave, wet bar and refrigerator. This Amarillo hotel features a spectacular indoor heated pool with hot tub, and a fitness center with a flat panel TV. And yes, we are that hotel with the waterfall, located directly behind the Texas Roadhouse. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel invites you to enjoy the 100% smoke free and pet free environment, together with the free, hot Express Start breakfast (mmm cinnamon rolls). Local attractions: Amarillo Civic Center, Tri State Fairgrounds, Amarillo Globe News Center for the Performing Arts, American Quarter Horse Headquarters & Museum, Heritage museum, Wolflin Village, Historic Route 66, Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon featuring the official play of the State of Texas, La Paloma golf course, Amarillo Country Club, West Texas A&M, Amarillo Community College Local businesses: Rick Husband Amarillo International Airport, Tradewinds Airport, Bell Helicopter, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Pantex, Tyson Foods, Owens Corning, BSA Hospital, North West Hospital, and The Laser Center for Vision. We look forward to seeing you in Amarillo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.