We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! An Actual Boulanger/Pâtisserie In Amarillo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Bakery

Frank's Bakery
1923 S Western St, Amarillo, TX 79106-5930
806-352-8089
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Bakeries in Amarillo
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Texas
Level Contributor
1,079 reviews
560 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Wow! An Actual Boulanger/Pâtisserie In Amarillo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a true French Boulanger and the owner is from France. Excellent variety of Bakery goods and a small menu for lunch. The Croissants butter or chocolate are truly excellent. The lunch sandwiches are tasty and enjoyable. Franks is only open for breakfast/lunch from 10am to 2pm. This is a small place and very popular so if you want French bakery items arrive early.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Only good thing was the cookie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I was here in March and was thoroughly impressed with the food and service so now that my mom is visiting I wanted to bring her here so she can taste for herself. Wow, I don't know what happen to this establishment since then but I had to apologize to my mom for such a poor experience. I know it is lunch and they get busy so why not increase staff? We weren't greeted just directed where to sit. The lady was on her own to handle the front but that doesn't mean you can't smile and greet your customers. Won't hurt to be friendly especially in this town where most people are friendly and welcoming. I had a turkey sandwich on the baguette and that was so disappointing. I should have bought a baguette to go and made my own. My mom ordered a dish that was made from puff pastry that was burnt slightly and the filling tasted like it had been sitting out for awhile. The meringue cookie was the best part. It took almost 25 min to get our food, no refills on water, no follow up on how things are tasting and not even so much as a "sorry for the wait" until we went up to pay. By that time the restaurant was pretty empty so really no excuse. Rude service, mediocre food made for a disappointing return visit. Probably won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Happy I stopped in for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in on my way to work this morning and was very pleased! No waiting, I walked in and ordered the ham and cheeses croissant ( already made) and had them warm it. I also had the sucre Suisse pastry... It was scream cheese filled pastry sprinkled w sugar and it was divine!!!!!!
Both were delicious, and the person helping me was very pleasant.

There were many selections to choose from. Including a scrumptious looking spinach filled croissant. I may try that one tomorrow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So many choices of pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is great to either have lunch there, or pick up pastries for home or office. Lots and lots of choices.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great baked goods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The only authentic french bakery in Amarillo, Always has great pastry and breads. The sandwiches are on their fresh baked bread.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Frank's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.