We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6318 Ventura Dr, Amarillo, TX 79118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #37 of 66 hotels in Amarillo
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bed bugs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Checked in after a long drive. Went up to our rooms and thought wow these are nice big rooms. Went to open the curtains and they fell on my head :/ then noticed a bug on the pillow. Looked around and found more :( went to my mom's room and she too had some. Luckily they were nice and refunded all money without problem. Unfortunately, they didn't seem surprised??

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
16
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a long drive and arrived around midnight. This hotel was very much in keeping with the Comfort Suites brand and was on the south side right off I-27 which was perfect for us.

The person at the main desk was good and the room was very good. The following morning, the breakfast was also very good.

I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSouth, General Manager at Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
It was our plesure serving you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This Comfort Suites is a new location in Amarillo. After a long day in the Palo Duro Canyon this hotel was a welcome sight. My husband and I were exhausted and the facilities were great, the room was spacious, A/C worked fabulously, the shower had great water pressure with ample towels available. It was an easy check in and the attendant was very polite. We slept great for our last night out on the road.A great place for a SUPER price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSouth, General Manager at Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for visiting. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel was OK, but was close enough to the interstate highway that we heard some road nose. The walls are a little thin because one night we heard the person in the next room snoring. We didn't ask for a handicapped room, but they put us in one. I think they just fill up all the rooms in one hallway to make it convenient for the maids, but it wasn't convenient for us. There was just something about the energy of that room that wasn't good. My wife and I were just irritated, and we rarely have any issues like that. Plus the handicapped aspects of the bathroom were weird. Like the shower head on the wall only pointed in one direction: straight down. And the shower was extremely slippery and there was no place to put the soap or shampoos. Also there was no wifi so I used a wired connection for the internet with my laptop, and the internet connection was dropped 6 times. On the positive side the rooms were clean and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room, not a handicapped room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Maybe first impressions effect your views on a lot of things. I was not the group leader but I understand he had much trouble even making the reservations. Then when he called the day we were arriving, they could not understand and the rooms had not been blocked, keys made etc. Upon arrival the group was 30 minutes getting checked in and into their rooms!
There is no complaint about the accommodations, although they seemed below average to me for a Comfort Suite accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We booked in advance through Choice Hotels' website & paid less than $50 (pre-taxes), so we were more than surprised to find our room was a total suite & all rooms on interior corridors. It had a small open closet area when you walked in & included an iron & ironing board. On the left was a bathroom with large vanity, good lighting, toilet, & tub/shower combo. Just past the closet area was a bar/kitchenette area with sink, coffeemaker, microwave & fridge. This was all contained within the little entryway. This opened into a sitting/work area with a desk & a ton of outlets plus an ethernet cable. Across from this was a sleeper sofa, coffee table, & end table. A narrow low wall divided the sitting area from the bedroom section which included a very comfortable king bed, a chest & sizable flat screen TV, a padded bench, & a cushy chair

The bathroom also had a heat lamp, which was nice, and a hair dryer. There was a ceiling fan over the bed with a wall control that made it easy to regulate. We were on the 1st floor facing the parking area, but it was quiet (I do travel with a sound machine) & the curtains totally blocked outside light. The gap under the door was 2 inches or so, so the light from the hallway was more than enough to find your way to bathroom at night. Stuffing a towel under it reduced the light even more.

Breakfast included a good variety: eggs, bacon, waffles, bagels, coffee, tea, juice, & more. Very good.

Negatives: if there was an exhaust fan in the bathroom, it wasn't working. We didn't use the heat/air unit because the ceiling fan was all we needed. When we did check it before we checked out, we discovered it didn't work & reported it at the front desk. When traveling thru Amarillo, this will be my place to stay again next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSouth, General Manager at Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I would like to thank you for your kind words about our property. We pride ourselves to make your stay as stressfree and comfortable as we can. On behalf of me and our staff we would like to stay thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice, clean and comfortable hotel and room. The breakfast was hot and there were lots of choices. We had a couple of maintenance issues (bathtub plug was broken/bathroom fluorescent light was blinking like a strobe) that we reported to maid. This is our 2nd stay at this hotel. We will stay here again the next time we are in the Canyon-Amarillo area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator. It has a loud bell that sounds each time it's used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSouth, General Manager at Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we here at comfort suites would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I know you have a choice when it comes to your lodging needs and we would like to say thank for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again.


Kind Regards,

Devo Ragha
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo

Address: 6318 Ventura Dr, Amarillo, TX 79118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Comfort Suites Amarillo
Amarillo Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;