We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast but had to fight the guests AND staff for a chance at food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo to your Saves list
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6318 Ventura Dr, Amarillo, TX 79118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but had to fight the guests AND staff for a chance at food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

On a 5 day drive from San Antonio to Seattle, this Comfort Suites was the first night's stop. Good bed, huge room, clean bathroom, and quiet hallways. Breakfast was good but we had to fight what looked like a staff member's children for the best choices. They were messy and very loud and seemed to be oblivious to the guests that were trying to get a quick meal before the end of breakfast hours. We later saw these children cleaning rooms!! These children were very obviously too young to be working at this hotel and their attire was definitely not indicative a hotel employment. Ever heard to Child Labor Laws?? No skin off my teeth but seems like someone would be concerned. Overall a good stay. Out of the 4 Comfort Suites that we stayed in on our trip, this one was second best.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
29
22
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We've stayed here twice - once while visiting Palo Duro Canyon, and again on our way to California. Both times we found this hotel to be clean, and the staff has been very kind and helpful. If visiting Palo Duro Canyon, this hotel is close enough to visit the Canyon in the morning, return to the hotel for an afternoon rest, and then drive back out to see the "Texas" play that evening.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

First off I used my rewards since this was a family outing. Stayed in a suite with two doubles and a pull out. Sink in the room didn't have a handle on it plus there was no water to it. Bathroom sink OK.
Went to the pool, 1 of 3 lights working, very dark in the room, Sprayed down non slip around the pool was loose and caused tripping hazards.
The sauna ??? No Knobs so it didn't work.
Beds were broke down rolled to the middle or offf the bed.
Then the breakfast was not the best, I have stayed at a few Comfort suites and this one was not close to the top.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Only stayed overnight on the way to another destination. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok. Has plenty of choices. Would stay again if going that way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed March 2011 in room 106 which had the worst beds we have ever slept in. They were worse than an old pull-out sofa bed. They squeaked each time we moved; caved in the middle; thin and lumpy. The pillows were tiny squares... your head could not stay on them. In hindsight, we should have checked out and made the effort to change hotels. There are several good hotels in the area.

We would have slept better on the floor.

We will never stay there again.

The internet service had one bar in the room and full bars in the Lobby. The front desk staffer said she would call Sudden Link. I sat in the Dining Area working on my laptop and notice she never called anyone about the slow internet service. She was all happy talk, and no action. Her shift ended 30 mins later and she went home without addressing the issue.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stay in this hotel periodically. Our most recent stay was a let down because the management decided not to have maids clean the rooms because there were not many guests. This was a first for us anywhere. That aside the desk staff were friendly and capable, the room and bed comfortable, and breakfast adequate.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Road
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Staff was courteous. Breakfast was not good (one of the worst I’ve had at a “free” hotel breakfast) and the hotel was a little dirty. Our room was not cooled upon arrival and it took a while to cool to a comfortable point. In addition, the wall by our bathroom trash was not cleaned and trash by outside entrance needed emptied.....did not like trucks and trailer beds parked on access road. ...this seemed unsafe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo

Address: 6318 Ventura Dr, Amarillo, TX 79118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Comfort Suites Amarillo
Amarillo Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.