We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK- but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Amarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Amarillo to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Amarillo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Soncy Rd, Amarillo, TX 79121   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK- but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

When we arrived there was a smell in oour room and the floor felt damp. Not sure if there was a moisture problem and that was the smell. Hair dryer was cracked in half. Cleanliness ok, but not fabulous. The pool was closed for renovation, which was due to an emergency with the roof. We didn't know this ahead of time since it had just happened. They had made arrangements with another hotel located nearby, but not feasible with a family to go over. We checked out after one night, mainly because of the pool, but with the other problems. Staff was very understanding and courteous about everything.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    33
    14
    5
See reviews for
64
44
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Very clean and tidy hotel. The bathrooms were very, very small. We loved the continental breakfast and the free cookies in the afternoon. They were renovating the swimming pool area and so it was closed but they had an agreement with the Comfort Suites up the road and we went swimming there. The gave me an extre $16 off/night for an inconvience fee because of having to go to the other hotel. I would definately stay here again. When they get finished with the pool area it will be very nice from what I could tell.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

My mother in law had a medical procedure done in Amarillo this is where the nurse sent us for her to rest before our drive home. It was close to hospital and interstate yet tucked far enough away from interstate that it was quite, It also seemed very safe. Parking lot was well light. It looked new,clean and had nice extra's such as the full free breakfast. Lots of different items to choose from even for the picky eaters like me.The Staff was very kind and helpful, since we had to stay in that evening {doctors orders} they offered menu's for places that would deliver. Only reason I did'nt give them excellent on review is the bed was a little to hard for my back. Everything else was top notch.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Amarillo hotels are generally overpriced. We usually stay in the Hampton but couldn't justify the $30 difference between Hampton and Country Suites. We found the Country Inn to be reasonable, clean, quiet and a good value. My criticisms are an exceptionally unconfortable sofa, a wierd toilet (oversized for the bathroom and a strange, ocean-like flushing action) and the in-room air conditioning unit rather than central air, always a noisy bother. In addition, TV's are old fashioned and don't swivel so that they can be seen from the living area in a studio suite. The breakfast choices and quality beat the Hampton hands down.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

While driving from Arizona to Kansas, we spent the night at this Country Inn & Suites. Mind you, this was not our first time at this hotel as we also stayed here the first year it was build. Then it was in good shape. Being that this is a good stopping point on our drive back from Phoenix, we have stayed here a time or two because the hotels we would have rather stayed at were sold out. However, we ALWAYS seem to be able to get a room here. Hmmmmm! I wonder why? Last year, we were given a room that we found multiple black hairs on the sheets and asked for a different room. This time we were given a room that the dead bolt would not work so we had no way to lock the door at night. We quickly asked for a different room, which we got right away with several people waiting for a room in the lobby. Keep in mind that pets are allowed here (just check out the fur on the carpet going up the stairs in the lobby) Ruff!! The second room was "ok" but the walls showed wear and tear. Now about the "hard!" bed, who can sleep on that mattress?? Not a weary traveler! Oh! I forgot to mention that I got a low AAA rate ($98.10) on the phone, right? Well, another traveler came in to check out the rates while I was in the lobby changing room keys and was told it would be $113 for the night, which he thought was too high and said he had not discount cards to offer the clerk. As he was walking out the door, the front desk employee dropped the rate almost immediately to the AAA rate to entice the traveler to stay the night. Was my
"special rate" so special after all?? I think not! That kind of ticked me off. The breakfast....so so but nothing to brag about. The outside of the hotel is nice, but the parking lot is small for the number of guests each night. With a big rental truck this could present a problem, and if it's raining just be prepared to wade through all the standing water puddles sitting on the concrete parking lot. Swim!!! Better yet, keep driving!!

  • Liked — It was a place to stay.
  • Disliked — Pet fur!!!!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

The outside of the hotel is great! Beautiful architecture and very inviting!! We have 3 children and they were excited about going to a motel with a swimming pool. The pool and hottub were very nice. There is actually a rock waterfall that the boys had fun playing on. Now for the not so great part. I have never slept on a bed that was sooo hard. Neither my husband or I got any sleep because of the beds and we ARE NOT picky people. We never have trouble sleeping, but these beds felt like you were sleeping on the floor. Even my children complained the next morning about the beds. (How often do 5 & 6 year olds complain about a bed?!) I would think that for a new hotel, the bed would not be an issue at all. Breakfast had a very good selection, (Waffles, fruit, muffins, cereal, sausage, biscuits, eggs, juice, coffe and tea) but there wasn't enough dining room space. Many people couldn't find a place to sit, and we waited in line for a very long time to get our food. We will not stay here again, and it is for the simple reason that we need our SLEEP!!

  • Liked — pool and hottub
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ, NM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed here 1 night of a 3 day trip from Ohio to Albuquerque. The hotel was very clean, very quiet, and extremely comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is always a plus. There are plenty of places to eat around the area, mostly chains, though it's a little hard to find the entry/exit into the hotel parking lot. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking Lot design
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Amarillo

Address: 2000 Soncy Rd, Amarillo, TX 79121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#10 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Amarillo I-40 West offers affordable accommodations, thoughtful amenities and a convenient location near top attractions, making it the ideal place to land while visiting the Amarillo, TX area. Our hotel in Amarillo is just off I-40 West and near downtown Amarillo and Historic Route 66, putting guests in the perfect position to enjoy such attractions as Palo Duro Canyon State Park, Wonderland Amusement Park and Amarillo National Center. To ensure our hotel guests an enjoyable stay in Amarillo, the Country Inn & Suites offers attractively styled rooms and suites, an indoor pool and whirlpool, an on-site Fitness Center, a Business Center, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a free hot breakfast daily. Other points of interest nearby include Amarillo West Medical Center, Westgate Mall, Rick Husband International Airport, Amarillo Civic Center and Splash Amarillo Waterpark. Book your stay online today and experience comfort and style at the Country Inn & Suites Amarillo I-40 West hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Amarillo
Country Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Country Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.