We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, GREAT BEER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Texan Steak Ranch

Big Texan Steak Ranch
7701 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6915
+1 806-372-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 442 Restaurants in Amarillo
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Voted as the #1 Eating contest in America by Huffington Post.Voted as 1 of the top 10 places by Draft Magazine to drink a beer at.The list goes on and on. This place is full of action and what the Wild West was all about. 2,000 Square foot gift shop that even has a live rattlesnake in there. We have 12 Hand-Crafted beers made on site with a beer style to fit almost any beer drinker. From Raspberry Wheat to Whiskey Barrel Stout with Seasonal beers to fill in such as Oktoberfest Lager & Pecan Porter. Same Lee family for the last 54-years serving 3-generations of guests. Young man, We fed your grandfather! We're Glad your Here!
Kansas City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great food, GREAT BEER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fun/entertaining place. Their beer is great! I recommend getting the flight, it's very reasonably priced & all the beers are worth tasting. Food was good, cooked to our liking. Would stop again :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    622
    285
    126
    113
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best steak in my life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

It is a large place, famous for their quality of meat.
Best sirloin I ever had.
It came with 3 fried shrimps, that also were delicious and a fully loaded baked potato.
Cons: Their baths smell like hell. The service is slow.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Must stop place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stopped on our way Amarillo, what a place .Good tourist attraction. Was originally on 66 but he moved it when new road was built. Lots of cool stuff inside to do and see.even an old fashioned motel outside. Just stop to get a photo of bull!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You've got to stop for the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It is really kitchy, but you have to stop. The food is good, not awesome but pretty good. My daughter had the bbq platter which was the best of everybody's food. My husband and son had the Man vs Food tribute platter which was a 24 oz sirloin, shriimp, potato, salad, bread. The steak is very thick on that, like a roast. Get it medium rare, medium is too done for that thick of a steak. I got the lunch ribeye which was very thin, get it medium rare. The cake is amazing, i would go back for that. It is huge, four layers, which ends up being like four full pieces, it will feed the whole table for about 8 bucks, a good deal. So we got one of carrot cake and one chocolate. If you like beer they have an awesome looking microbrewery they give the people a full platter of shots of samples. Looks like a old west saloon. There is a roving singing cowboy. Nice gift shop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Totally tourist Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have eaten here numerous times and have never been disappointed. I am a beef man but turned to chicken years ago when I got tired of paying Choice prices for tough steak. It seems to be a crap shoot finding a good steak even in specialty houses. So many times I've eaten the potato and mushrooms and took the steak home for the dog. Not so at the Big Texan. Neither we nor our kids or grandkids have gotten a bad piece of meat here.

This is the place where you can get a dinner free if you eat it all - 72 ounces of steak plus ALL of the sides - in an hour or less. They also have a shooting gallery, a captive rattlesnake, a very interesting gift shop and a maze. The Big Texan Steak Ranch is always on the schedule when we are in the Amarillo area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Texan Steak Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Big Texan Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Texan Steak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.