We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Food!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Tokyo

Bangkok Tokyo
2413 S Western St Unit A, Amarillo, TX 79109
8063534777
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 424 Restaurants in Amarillo
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We love Bangkok Tokyo!!! My husband loves the Bangkok fried rice, I love everything I've had! Love thai noodle soup, pad thai, cashew chicken, it's all yummy. Great sushi too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

LIKE:
The owners are the cooks, wait-staff, and cashier. They do everything.
Dessert-Bangkok Moonlight.
The owners remember you second time you dine here (as well as your order).
Pad Thai Chow Wung, skip the regular Pad Thai
All the sushi is delicious.
All of the meals I have tried were delicious.

DISLIKES:
Nothing.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Gem of a place in West Amarillo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I am not going to compare this adorable resto to other mulit-Asian places in larger cities. It is best to consider this place in the context in which it exists. Is Amarillo a cultural and culinary wasteland, I will leave that judgement up to you. But if you are looking for a very tastee dish of noodles with various Asian heritages, artfully presented and servers that are friendly and caring, then this place is a perfect choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wish I could eat here every day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

From the moment I took a bite of the Pad Udon, I was hopelessly in love with this place. The food is outstanding. We had been hooked on the sushi from another restaurant in town, but after we tried the sushi at Bangkok Tokyo, we haven't been back to the other place once. The sushi here is incredibly fresh and flavorful, and the prices cannot be beat. We have been here dozens of times, tried many different dishes, and we just keep wanting more. The building is a hole in the wall, but that has never discouraged us. It is small and intimate. The owner, Damein, is always there. He's a very hard worker and seriously one of the nicest guys I have ever met. He will learn your name after a few visits, and will recognize you and call you by name each time you stop in. He is full of gratitude for every purchase you make there, whether it's a large to-go order, or just a Thai Iced Coffee to go. (You want to try the iced coffee - it is heavenly!) I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ordinary food served in a dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Menu us a mix if various Asian cuisines. Food was very ordinary. Single bathroom is found by escort through the kitchen. I guess few people wash their hands in Amarillo before they eat. Nothing spoke of cleanliness. The place left me wondering if there is even a health department in the city of Amarillo. Service was non-existent. Inexcusable for a very small restaurant. Definitely not worth the ranking. Stay away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.