We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD experience yesterday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina

On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
2401 S Soncy Rd, Amarillo, TX 79124
806-553-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 429 Restaurants in Amarillo
Cuisines: Mexican, Grill
Restaurant details
Childress, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“BAD experience yesterday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wait staff FINALLY arrived at table (and they were NOT busy)! Brought silverware; FINALLY brought water w/lemon and I began to stir my water until I looked again at the FORK! DIRTY, NASTY - with food stuck and dried all over it!!!!!!!!! Needless to say - I asked for new water and new silverware. AGAIN - DIRTY food stuck and dried on the fork AND knife. THIRD time - I think I got clean ones. Then they brought out salad plates --- AGAIN FOOD STUCK AND DRIED all over them. The food came and was mediocre to say the least. No wonder there were not any customers. Food, service, etc. were NOT a good experience. Was first time there in a long time and it will be even longer before we go back. p.s. - the kids screaming while mothers' tuned into their cell phones made it an even worse experience. Parents - not everyone wants to hear your little children scream!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialOTB, Owner at On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Carolyn, Thank you for your feedback. Cleanliness is very important to us and we are disappointed to hear of your negative experience you had with both the service and food selections at our restaurant. Please contact our Guest Relations Manager at http://www.ontheborder.com/contact-us.aspx so that we can work to make things right on your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cold food, terrible service, smartmouth bartender”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went Sat night (26 Oct 13) at about 8:00 PM for the "Endless Enchilada" Special. The restaurant was not busy. We asked for and were seated at a booth in the bar area. When our waiter finally came around, he said we could only order 2 enchailadas at at time. It took at least 20 minutes to get our order and the food was cold when we got it. The waiter took it back and got it heated up. While we were eating, the manager came into the bar and told the wait staff to quit clowning around and take care of customers (they were playing "hide & seek"). The bartender told the manager that was her area and she would tell the wait staff what to do. When we were ready to re-order, our waiter was nowhere to be found. My wife went to the bar and asked where our waiter was. The Bartender told her he was busy rolling sliverware and we would just have to wait. I went to the check-in desk and complaind to the manager. She did apologize and comped our meal, but we won't go back. There are too many Mexican restaurants in Amarillo to have to put up with cold food, poor service and smartmouth help.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialOTB, Owner at On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We apologize that you did not enjoy your visit. It is always our goal to provide great guest service & food. We are disappointed that this was not your experience. We are always looking to improve, if you'd be willing to discuss this further? Our Guest Relations Manager would like to make this right with you and can be reached at http://www.ontheborder.com/contact-us.aspx. Thank you for your honest feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talihina
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Some of the best tex-mex you can get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I Like the salsa and queso very well here it's has the right amount of heat and very flavorful. The ultimate fajita is always good but heck everything I have ever ate here at the OTB chain restaurants around the states has been delicious. I would suggest getting on their email list for specials like free appetizers or other things.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stopped on a long journey from New Mexico to Illinois. A nice place with good prices friendly people and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would recommend this place to travelers. Friendly service and the price is right. Easy access from I 40. Had chicken tortilla soup and is was spicy and delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“ok for chain store mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

i love mexican food so you have to be really bad for me not to be impressed. it's not bad food but it's just not great. i'm sure it's because it's a chain.... give me the local mom & pop places any time

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.