We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger Perfection?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Light Cafe & Cantina

Golden Light Cafe & Cantina
2906 SW 6th Ave, Amarillo, TX 79106
806-374-9237
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 429 Restaurants in Amarillo
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Amarillo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Burger Perfection?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If this isn't burger perfection, it's as close as you can get! I honestly wasn't expecting very much because I'm picky about burgers and prefer fire grilled over your diner griddle type burger. But this place changed my mind about that. I've searched for great burgers at the most well known places in Sante Fe, as well as all the usuals in Amarillo. I believe the burger here is as good or better than Any other I have tried. Even beats Coyote Bluff by a notch or two! I got the double habenero burger. It was firey hot yet you could still reallly savor the huge beef flavor in this angus burger. It crushes places like Blue Sky, Arnolds, GJ's and all the rest. Golden light does it right and puts the others to shame. The fries are hand cut, not my style, kinda limp and greasy. Lots of people love that, but I'll stick to burger heaven next time I go. Can't wait to try other burger chioces on the menu. Perfectly seasoned and charred meat, toasted bun, a lil greasy in a delicious way.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beecharmer1982
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I went here for lunch with my in-laws last month and really enjoyed it! They serve the best BLT ever! I even had a bite of someone else's cheeseburger and it was delish!

The picnic tables out back make a fun atmosphere for a family outing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecos, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great spot on Route 66 in Amarillo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Get away from the big chains on the I-40 and head down to 6th street. Cafe has great burgers and fries, nd an even better green chili patty melt! Sit at te ar and watch the great staff cook up you meal or order at the cafe and head next door to the cantina for some live music and ice cold beer. Great friendly place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hole-in-the-Wall restaurant on old Route 66 specializing in burgers, chili, and other tasty item. Have had everything on the menu, my favorite is their All The Way to L.A. (that name is copyrighted to them) which is a large burrito with chili and jalapenos that is off the scale delicious. The décor reflects the age of the business - love the pictorial history hanging all over the walls. Clientele is anyone from your next door neighbor to locals to overseas visitors to corporate CEOs. A must visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stop here on your way thru amarillo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

It's a little out of the way for some but the burgers are out of this world! I'm partial to the habanero burger but they are all delicious. The fries are hand cut and homemade and awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Light Cafe & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Golden Light Cafe & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Light Cafe & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.