We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mexican Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacos Garcia

Tacos Garcia
2200 E Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79107-5542
806-373-3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 417 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Smithfield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

As part of our cross country journey, we stopped in Amarillo, Texas and ate lunch at Tacos Garcia. Service was fast and excellent. The restaurant was very busy and now we know why. I had the El Tampico platter, which was a trio that consists of one grilled chicken faluta topped with salsa espanola, one beef chile relleno topped with cheese, and one guacamole and beans chlupa viernes with a frozen strawberry Margarita which was the perfect finishing touch. My husband had a shrimp taco salad (excellent), with a draft beer, which was served very cold. It is not a quiet place, so be prepared for a lively place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very good food and atmosphere. I wish they would open a second location, never disappointed always a great meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved This Place From Our First Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I have lived in Amarillo for the last 10 years and this restaurant is BY FAR our favorite. The food is phenomenal (I love the queso, tacos, and tamales ... my wife loves their enchiladas), the service is great, the beer on tap is cold & refreshing, the house margaritas are amazing, and the food comes out fast & hot. Oh, and their chips and salsa severed before the meal is so very good with three types of salsa. If you have a hard time with really zesty salsa, you may want to stay away from the green! My wife and I have lost count how many times we have been to Tacos Garcia ... we simply love it that much. Top down, it's one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. That sounds like a lofty perch, but for me and my wife, it's just truth. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Recommend. Just there on 1/10/2014. Kiosco entree and shredded beef Chimichanga were both great. Hot sauces excellent. Server Sylvia very attentive. Have been there 5 times before. This was the best visit.Fast food delivery.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tired, Resting on Past Success?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

May have been the spot in the past judging by the accolades on the wall as you enter but not much to recommend it today. We had hoped for some quality Mexican food on our road trip to Phoenix but came away disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos Garcia also viewed

 

Been to Tacos Garcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacos Garcia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.