We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some things good some things bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Western Plaza Drive, Amarillo, TX 79109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Some things good some things bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

As others have written they seem to draw to a lot of pets. Standard layout for layout style going not having the inn's layout with the suites price. If kids are and issue, ask for rooms not near the pool. Breakfast was ok but not great, get there early.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Returning from a road trip to Colorado back to South Texas, an overnight stop was in order in Amarillo. This must be a fairly new hotel, as it is in a group of other hotels with one more pad site for development nearby. Everything about this hotel was clean and spacious. The lobby was wide open and the breakfast area off the lobby was a vast space compared to the ones we had been in on the road trip. It was nice in the morning not to have to dodge people left and right to enjoy the included breakfast. The hallway to our room seemed wider than “normal”. The 2 queen room was probably 3’ wider than the “standard room” accentuating that spacious feeling. There was space enough at the end of the beds that you could do yoga or sit ups if you were so inclined. The separate seating area was nice as was the wide vestibule near the door – great for dressing or stacking bags before leaving. One small drawback was that the bathroom door and room door seemed to be in conflict as the bathroom door had many dings from being whacked by the room door.

We also checked out the pool and fitness room. Again, nice and spacious. The fitness room had a couple tread mills, ellipticals, recumbent bikes, a comprehensive machine weight station and free weights. If we had one tiny complaint, it was that the fitness room was quite warm though the A/C was on. Note that if you get in late like we did, you won’t have much time to enjoy the indoor pool or spa as it closes at ten. There were lots of people trying to squeeze in a little pool time before it closed when we were there. I know most places close their pool at ten but with a place like this – clearly popular with folks on their way to/from somewhere else – it would be nice to have extended hours for the amenities (maybe keep the couple rooms above the pool as the last ones filled).

We three travelers had been together A LOT on this road trip so all this extra space was GREAT! I can easily recommend this hotel and will stay here again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

A fairly new motel that was very clean - nice breakfast area that was well staffed with an attendant right there. However, the internet access was NOT!! They offered no solution to the problem. In the morning went to get a paper - was told they were out. Checking the parking lot not a full house - looked to see if someone was reading in the breakfast room - no dice. When checking out was told the management only buys a low number of papers and that most days they run out early.

Room Tip: Ask if the internet access has improved. Ask to reserve a paper if you want one in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were traveling east and stopped in Amarillo for the night. Planned to stop here and had made a reservation. Good thing because this place was sold out by time we arrived. The hotel manager was on duty for out check in and check out the next morning. You simply will not meet a nicer guy. He was offering everything he could to make us feel welcome and made sure we didn't want for anything.

The bed was comfortable and the room clean. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was we stayed on the 4th floor one room from the end of the building. In the last room next to ours was a group of guys. They were only talking, not being loud or boisterous, but they talked until 2:30 in the morning and we could hear almost every word they said. i was shocked that the walls were so thin. It ruined what would have been a perfect stay.

Other than that it was one of the nicest Comfort Suites we have stayed in. I would gladly stay there again, but will bring my ear plugs next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a really nice room that was large and really quiet for being so close to I-40. Beds were super comfortable and rooms get cold fast. We enjoyed the stores in the area and the time we had to rest here. Breakfast was quite disappointing for such a nice hotel, it had really basic items like cereal, pastries and waffles but no fruit so don't get too excited about it. It seems like a pretty safe area except multiple times there were people walking all over the place in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here on our way to Colorado. Booked online, arrived at 9:30pm. Room was ready and very nice. Lots of pillows on the bed and an actual thermostat on the wall just like home. The desk clerk was very friendly, I don't remember her name but she was new. Breakfast was ready right at 6:30 with plenty to eat. Only minor negatives were some carpets need to be vacuumed in common areas and there were no prices listed on the snack items in the pantry. We didn't want to bother the desk clerk to ask as she was still busy.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the way back from Colorado. Booked online and paid $25 for an extra person in the room--we have a family of five. Arrived at 11:00PM. There were no linens for the sofa bed. Wondered why they were not in the room since we paid extra for the fifth person. After we inquired about the linens we were given four flat sheets--no pillows or blanket. We were told they were locked in a closet and no one there had the key. We asked for the mattress pad for the sofa bed and received a blank stare. They then gave us a blanket from the room next door. Still no pillows--we used pillows we brought with us.
I think maybe the rooms with the sofa beds get a lot of use because there were a lot of scuffs on the walls, drips on the bathroom wall (that I'm hoping were coffee), lots of nicks on the furniture, dingy carpet. No plastic laundry bag--OK, probably being picky but it was just one more thing at that point.
We set the thermostat on 63 to get the AC unit to turn on. It would cycle on and off every few minutes and never got below 78. Probably could have switched rooms but it was late. We went to bed and hoped for the best.
Needless to say, I would not stay there again. No attention to detail. Did not seem clean. AC didn't work. Can't comment on the breakfast. We woke up and got out of there as quick as we could.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 12 Western Plaza Drive, Amarillo, TX 79109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.