We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy on and off I-40 for a 20 hour road trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Western Plaza Drive, Amarillo, TX 79109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Easy on and off I-40 for a 20 hour road trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a really nice room that was large and really quiet for being so close to I-40. Beds were super comfortable and rooms get cold fast. We enjoyed the stores in the area and the time we had to rest here. Breakfast was quite disappointing for such a nice hotel, it had really basic items like cereal, pastries and waffles but no fruit so don't get too excited about it. It seems like a pretty safe area except multiple times there were people walking all over the place in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here on our way to Colorado. Booked online, arrived at 9:30pm. Room was ready and very nice. Lots of pillows on the bed and an actual thermostat on the wall just like home. The desk clerk was very friendly, I don't remember her name but she was new. Breakfast was ready right at 6:30 with plenty to eat. Only minor negatives were some carpets need to be vacuumed in common areas and there were no prices listed on the snack items in the pantry. We didn't want to bother the desk clerk to ask as she was still busy.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the way back from Colorado. Booked online and paid $25 for an extra person in the room--we have a family of five. Arrived at 11:00PM. There were no linens for the sofa bed. Wondered why they were not in the room since we paid extra for the fifth person. After we inquired about the linens we were given four flat sheets--no pillows or blanket. We were told they were locked in a closet and no one there had the key. We asked for the mattress pad for the sofa bed and received a blank stare. They then gave us a blanket from the room next door. Still no pillows--we used pillows we brought with us.
I think maybe the rooms with the sofa beds get a lot of use because there were a lot of scuffs on the walls, drips on the bathroom wall (that I'm hoping were coffee), lots of nicks on the furniture, dingy carpet. No plastic laundry bag--OK, probably being picky but it was just one more thing at that point.
We set the thermostat on 63 to get the AC unit to turn on. It would cycle on and off every few minutes and never got below 78. Probably could have switched rooms but it was late. We went to bed and hoped for the best.
Needless to say, I would not stay there again. No attention to detail. Did not seem clean. AC didn't work. Can't comment on the breakfast. We woke up and got out of there as quick as we could.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is nice and for the most part great staff. Check in was great, room large, clean and updated. The location is convenient, right off I-10, and close to several good places to eat like Cheddars! The pool and hot tub was one of the best we have used and breakfast was well stocked. But breakfast is where we experienced a negative. When we checked in we was told breakfast started at 6am. and thats when our family of three went to eat. We did notice a sign by the coffee that stated breakfast begins at 6:30am, No problem, the young lady whom was working the front desk, already had breakfast set up and said to help ourselves, and there was already a few others enjoying the breakfast. That is when we was confronted by an employee(an older short lady in a housekeeping uniform, wearing a brown coat, eating breakfast with two other housekeepers, or they all appeared to be housekeepers). She goes sir breakfast does not start until 6:30. We noticed others who already was eating just shook there head at her comment. So We proceeded to eat a nicely prepared breakfast. We sat down to eat and from the other table the lady talked about us,to the others in Spanish, and about how disrespectful us Americans. My high school son and wife whom both know the Spanish language, could not believe what they was hearing. Prejudice, has no place in our country! At checkout we told the young lady about this and she was very apologetic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Ok, can I just say that I am now really aware of what a "suite" is? So many hotels try to pass off a double queen and a couch pull out as a luxury suite. Comfort Suites just put them all to shame. This place is brand new and the rooms are spectacular! Huge space!! Feels like we are in a apartment, not a hotel room. Amazing. So worth the price!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Like many people traveling across Texas, Amarillo is just a pass-through city. When coming home from a family reunion recently, our family of six needed a hotel for one night. We found the Comfort Suites and were happy we decided to stay. The hotel is still fairly new and most of the amenities were well-kept and in good condition. Many restaurants were within walking distance which made for a nice leisurely stroll to and from dinner. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were open until 10:00 pm which allowed out children to get in a great swim before dinner. The fitness center does not have a lot of equipment, but the equipment it does have was in great shape and most likely meets the needs of those traveling through. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The coffee was hot and very good. The staff was very friendly and quite helpful. We really enjoyed our brief stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for extra bedding if you are using the pull-out sofa. Also, a freezer is not incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed one night with our family of six. Suite was spacious and very clean. Didn't feel cramped at all. Kids loved the spa and pool. Breakfast had good assortment and friendly staff. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 12 Western Plaza Drive, Amarillo, TX 79109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.