We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute find in Amarillo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6901 I-40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
White Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Last minute find in Amarillo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

While driving from Michigan to Las Vegas, NV we picked this hotel last minute without being able to research it. Upon arrival the neighboring hotel property looked a little shady but once inside the Hampton everything was up to our standards. We usually stay at Hampton or Marriott properties so we are familiar with the amenities they offer. Check in was quick and friendly, the room was neat, clean and well stocked with towels, pillows, etc. Breakfast was the standard continental fixings and everything seemed fresh and was ready promptly at 6 a.m. as promised. The business center on the first floor was nicely appointed with two computers. There is a Pizza Hut/ Wing Street, Outback and Brewhaus all within walking distance. We drove down the road a few miles to a Mexican restaurant called Nachos. Overall the food, drinks and service were very good. My husband had the grilled Tilapia and the manager offered to make vegetarian refried beans for my tostada since I am vegetarian. They seemed to go out of their way to make sure we enjoyed the meal.

  • Liked — Closeness to expressway
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    58
    24
    15
    10
See reviews for
55
55
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

My husband and I stopped here on our way back to Colorado. Location is great as it is right off the highway but back a bit so we didn't hear highway noise. Yes, the Krispy Creme in front is boarded up and is an eyesore. Hopefully, they will do something with that building. The location is great if you are heading west as this hotel is on the western edge of the city. There is a mall, movie theater and restaurants nearby. (Not walking distance but a short drive.)

Our room was great. Very clean and ample space for the two of us. The hotel was quiet. Breakfast in the morning is an added bonus. Some of the items available are warm and not sweet. (Often, the free breakfast provided by a hotel only contains sweet items.) Yes, as someone in another review noted, the items have been frozen but I don't think you can expect a home cooked breakfast.

Overall, if you need a stopover in Amarillo, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Tips/Secrets — Drive the short distance to eat at Ruby Tequila's restaurant.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2006

This hotel may not be in a pretty location as the last advisor mentioned. However, it is conveniently located off of I-40 and somewhat away from the roar of the road. It is fairly new and has the wonderful cloud nine bedding. The lobby was very attractive, the staff courteous,and the breakfast buffet ample. Amarillo looks like it going though a lot of changes. There is going to be a mix of the old and the new just about everywhere. We have stayed at the places off of Soncy and did find them as satisactory as this hotel. Hampton seems to have the upper hand on the chain hotels.

  • Liked — Great place for just the overnight!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Call the hotel directly to get the best rates.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2006

This is a very nice hotel, but it has some drawbacks. For 2 mornings in a row the bath water was warm, but not hot. Not the way I like to start the day. For 3 days in a row I put a hand-towel on the floor because it had a long hair on it. Twice the maid put the towel back on the rack with the hair still in place. Finally, as another reviewer mentioned, the surrounding properties aren't very impressive. Krispy Kreme is boarded up (closed), and the hotel next door looks terrible (it also has boards over some windows).

If I come to Amarillo again I will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

Near perfect room. Clean and quiet. Appears to be a new facility. Parking was cramped. Skip the lobby breakfast and hit the new Krispy Kreme location in front for hot doughnuts and coffee.

One drawback is the run down mom and pop budget hotel next door. Lodgers were having a 4th of July party in the parking lot complete with fireworks and a small bonfire. No noise problem for the Hampton though. Hilton would be wise to buy the mom and pop neighbor, tear it down, and build a Hilton Garden Inn there.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2005

We stayed in the Hampton Inns and Suites for one night on our way to Colorado. Although the Hotel was new, the rooms were very small. We have three small children. We stayed here for the heated indoor pool, but it was too cold for our one year old and there was so much chlorine in the hot tub that it bleached my shorts and gave me a rash for three days. My husband said the "hot" breakfast was straight from the freezer section.


Overall the Hotel was new and very clean. But for our family of five, it was way too small. For a smaller group or just a couple, the room would have been fine.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Address: 6901 I-40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#15 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know after a long day of travel you want to relax and appreciate our hospitality. Enjoy our heated indoor pool and relax in hot tub. Stay energized in our fitness center or get connected in our business center. Start your day off right with a complimentary hot breakfast, and before you hit the road grab a snack from our market. You will love our convenient location near Interstate 40, the medical and shopping districts, and you can travel anywhere in Amarillo within 15 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.