We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and a good night's stay !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6901 I-40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
311 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good location and a good night's stay !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I try to stay at Hampton Inn on our vacations. This one in Amarillo was ideal for the local places that we visited. The hotel was in a bit of a remodeling phase, but it certainly didn't bother us a bit. The staff was very nice and helpful with information and driving tips. The room was excellent, clean, good bed, and we both got a very good night's sleep. They even had enough cookies so that we actually got a couple this time. The only slightly negative thing was that the parking is a bit confined. We came back from a trip downtown in the evening to find that all of the spots were full. But we managed and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Mr. Johnson, thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. I will be sharing your comments with our staff, so they know how much you appreciate the job they do. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Amarillo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    74
    26
    17
    14
See reviews for
70
71
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located on the the access road for east-bound I-40 traffic, this Hampton Inn is a great choice for a Rest Over-Night in Amarillo. Quiet, clean, friendly -- and located within an easy stroll to a Hofbrau for down-home Texas cuisine. Ask at the front desk for a voucher good for either a complimentary appetizer or dessert -- that'll save you $6 or $7 on dinner!

Hampton's helpful staff is a plus for whatever you need in Amarillo! And breakfast at this Hampton is top-notch for the brand.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Alan, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed one of our favorite restaurants! I will be sharing your comments with our staff. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Amarillo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The staff was very personable and helpful with our travel plans. The room was spotless and the beds are the best. We enjoyed the pool area, soaked in the hot tub, ran on the tread mill, and enjoyed a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Brenda, thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Amarillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I find this location very convenient for doing business in Amarillo. It is close to good places to eat. There are a couple of eating options within walking distance. I have stayed here a few times, even survived a bad hail storm here, and won't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West. We are pleased we have been your home away from home in Amarillo. We look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The weather forced us to land our plane at the Amarillo Airport so we needed a place to stay. Unfortunately there are no Hilton properties near the airport so we had to go to the west side of Amarillo. For us this was a distinct disadvantage as we had a $25 taxi ride back to the airport. We got a ride with a friend from the airport to the hotel. But a $30 (with tip) ride using Hilton Honor points was still a bargain. The staff were excellent and our overnight stay was great. Nice room (kitchen area, living room area and bed area) and it was spacious. There were several nice restaurants nearby and the complimentary breakfast was fine. We enjoyed our stay and it was a very comfortable evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Robert, thank you for your review. We are happy we could accommodate you when you were redirected to Amarillo. We are also happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again, if your travels bring you back to Amarillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at Hampton Inn and Suites for one night. I was very impressed by the hotel staff. We we walked into our room we were greeted by a hand written card and a few chocolates which my kids enjoyed. About 10 minutes after being in the room we received a call from housekeeping to make sure we were happy with our room. The room was very clean and we enjoyed the indoor swimming pool. The only reason I gave this hotel 4 stars is because there was not a mini fridge or microwave in our room. The hot breakfast was typical we enjoyed the fresh fruit and coffee. Great customer service! Keep up the good work!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Mr. Spitts, thank you for your review. We take pride in providing our guests with exceptional customer service; in fact our motto here is “Hamptonality is BIGGER in Amarillo Texas!” We want each of our guests to feel at home: like you are staying with your friend or family. I will make sure to pass your comments on to our team, so they know how much you appreciated their hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turpin, OK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel was not completely up to Hampton Inn standards, but we had a nice stay anyway. Although the hotel appeared to have new carpet which was nice, the bathtub had rust on the open and close switch. Was a little pricey, but still not a bad option.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. While we have completed much of our renovations to the property, we are still working on other areas such as the bathtubs. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We hope to see you again when you return to Amarillo, so we can show you how we are continuing to improve our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Address: 6901 I-40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#14 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know after a long day of travel you want to relax and appreciate our hospitality. Enjoy our heated indoor pool and relax in hot tub. Stay energized in our fitness center or get connected in our business center. Start your day off right with a complimentary hot breakfast, and before you hit the road grab a snack from our market. You will love our convenient location near Interstate 40, the medical and shopping districts, and you can travel anywhere in Amarillo within 15 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.