We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a zoo?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amarillo Zoo

Amarillo Zoo
Thompson Memorial Park, Amarillo, TX
806-381-7911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 49 things to do in Amarillo
Attraction details
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This is a zoo?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's great that the Amarillo Zoo thinks that Rabbits, horses, and coyotes are all "Zoo worthy." It's pretty silly considering you can see those things in your backyard.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    40
    27
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“WORTH YOUR TIME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The prices are little to nothing. If you have kids its worth taking them to the zoo. Not a very big zoo, but high quality and very well worth the very low price of admission. Its a good place to go befor going over to Wonderland park.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST zoo for small children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great place to take small children (1 - 10 years). Very clean, friendly staff, quite a few animals, to include lions, bears, tigers, monkeys.....Even a playground / park area for children to play. Very reasonable price. Our son loved it! We even went back the next day!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It Continues to Improve!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

It is average but bordering good. They are and have made tremedous improvements to an already pretty good zoo.
They always have had an AWESOME progam available to children.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Yes this zoo is small but it has a variety of neat animals. My family ranges from 50 to 14months and we ALL had a good time. The only animals that i saw that didnt have much shade were the buffalo but had lots of room to roam. The reptile exhibit was pretty cool too. And yes they do have misters they are big blue and tall there is a silver button on the side that you push. I dont really understand why this zoo gets bad reviews. You can tell its small by looking at it and you hardly pay anything to get in. We loved it and will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarillo Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Amarillo Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarillo Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.