We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Amarillo East to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Sturgeon, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was a nice room for the money. It had big truck parking in the rear and was pet friendly. Both things we need. We had a nice king bed, microwave and refrigerator. Pretty good breakfast also. Will definitely stay here again when in Amarillo.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
I appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stay, and i'm happy you enjoyed your room. Red Roof Inn is known for being pet-friendly, and i'm happy that you could use that to your advantage. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    97
    60
    40
    21
See reviews for
74
68
37
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Buffalo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here unexpectedly after our vehicle broke down on way to my daughter's wedding in Michigan. Great place to stay if you happen to end up needing tools and food. Harbor freight tools next door and lots of restaurants. Front desk staff and manager very accomodating. Let us stay past late checkout so my husband could clean up after fixing our vehicle which was a 5 hour job! Had me put a 20 dollar deposit which they promptly gave back when we left. Hard to find good customer service these days and so refreshing when you do.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm happy you liked your room, and we do proud our staff on being accomadative and friendly, so i'm glad we could help. It's good that you took advantage of our location, and you were able to get back up and running. Thank you for posting your experience,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I made a reservation for a room with 2 beds - was given a room with one bed. Went back to office to ask for correct room - was told that was the only room available. Called the other RRI in Amarillo - no problem - they had what I wanted. This RRI suddenly came up with room I had requested - no apologies. Got into room - killed about 10 flies with hand towel, then realized that carpet in front of sink is soaking wet. Yuck!!! Going to kill more flies now.
Oh yeah - and the wi fi apparently doesn't reach to my room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I got this property via Hotwire. It was a good place for the price. I ate breakfast at the famous Big Texan steakhouse, its a Route 66 landmark, it originated on 66. The room was clean and the tube tv worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, SD
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We only were here for the night. Checked in late like after 10 and left early. Clean room, fridge, sink outside the teeny shower/toilet area which I love so you can have multiple people doing morning bathroom stuff at the same time.
Basic decent breakfast, friendly front desk. Again, for the price, it's a bit more than you'd expect. I'd recommend for a quick night on the cheap. Ask for AAA discount too!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
314 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Upon arrival a very friendly check in person gave me a bottle of water. After going to the room she even called to make sure everything was ok. This is an older property but the air conditioning and plumbing worked well. Internet also worked well. Breakfast was cereals, donuts, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal , toast, coffee and juice. Would not hesitate to stay there again especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Be aware that all of these rooms open to the parking lot so all traffic and noise is felt and in some instances heard. Beds are firm, A/C is cold, rooms are relatively clean but don't look too close. We were pulling a U-Haul to Denver, stopped for the night and parked in several spots in the back with others doing the same. Staff was friendly and helpful but wanted us to park with the Semis. Nope.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn East Amarillo Texas
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites
Baymont Inn & Suites
#28 of 69 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#24 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#37 of 69 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo/Central
Super 8 Amarillo/Central
#31 of 69 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Address: 1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo East is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaruant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo East features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.