We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Amarillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Amarillo to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Amarillo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Sturgeon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was a nice room for the money. It had big truck parking in the rear and was pet friendly. Both things we need. We had a nice king bed, microwave and refrigerator. Pretty good breakfast also. Will definitely stay here again when in Amarillo.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
I appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stay, and i'm happy you enjoyed your room. Red Roof Inn is known for being pet-friendly, and i'm happy that you could use that to your advantage. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    84
    48
    31
    19
See reviews for
54
62
25
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Buffalo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here unexpectedly after our vehicle broke down on way to my daughter's wedding in Michigan. Great place to stay if you happen to end up needing tools and food. Harbor freight tools next door and lots of restaurants. Front desk staff and manager very accomodating. Let us stay past late checkout so my husband could clean up after fixing our vehicle which was a 5 hour job! Had me put a 20 dollar deposit which they promptly gave back when we left. Hard to find good customer service these days and so refreshing when you do.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm happy you liked your room, and we do proud our staff on being accomadative and friendly, so i'm glad we could help. It's good that you took advantage of our location, and you were able to get back up and running. Thank you for posting your experience,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I made a reservation for a room with 2 beds - was given a room with one bed. Went back to office to ask for correct room - was told that was the only room available. Called the other RRI in Amarillo - no problem - they had what I wanted. This RRI suddenly came up with room I had requested - no apologies. Got into room - killed about 10 flies with hand towel, then realized that carpet in front of sink is soaking wet. Yuck!!! Going to kill more flies now.
Oh yeah - and the wi fi apparently doesn't reach to my room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I got this property via Hotwire. It was a good place for the price. I ate breakfast at the famous Big Texan steakhouse, its a Route 66 landmark, it originated on 66. The room was clean and the tube tv worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, SD
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We only were here for the night. Checked in late like after 10 and left early. Clean room, fridge, sink outside the teeny shower/toilet area which I love so you can have multiple people doing morning bathroom stuff at the same time.
Basic decent breakfast, friendly front desk. Again, for the price, it's a bit more than you'd expect. I'd recommend for a quick night on the cheap. Ask for AAA discount too!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Upon arrival a very friendly check in person gave me a bottle of water. After going to the room she even called to make sure everything was ok. This is an older property but the air conditioning and plumbing worked well. Internet also worked well. Breakfast was cereals, donuts, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal , toast, coffee and juice. Would not hesitate to stay there again especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Be aware that all of these rooms open to the parking lot so all traffic and noise is felt and in some instances heard. Beds are firm, A/C is cold, rooms are relatively clean but don't look too close. We were pulling a U-Haul to Denver, stopped for the night and parked in several spots in the back with others doing the same. Staff was friendly and helpful but wanted us to park with the Semis. Nope.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo

Address: 1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
#15 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of I-40 on Exit #71, Red Roof Amarillo is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Tri-State Fairground, the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum, and Amarillo College. We’re also close to Palo Duro Canyon State Park, perfect for hiking and biking, the cities of Canyon, Hereford, Borger and Pampa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.