We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Amarillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Amarillo to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Amarillo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The room was a decent size as we had two double beds. The air conditioning unit was quite loud so could be quite disruptive. Our room overlooked the car park and there were a number of people drinking in this area which made it quite loud.

The pool was nice. However, there was only two loungers which could be a problem if the pool was busy.

The breakfast was disappointing as there was not a great selection. Also there was insufficient seating for people to sit and eat. Even the sofas in the lobby were taken by people eating and some people were left standing.

The hotel did have a limo service to the Big Texan Steakhouse which was free. This also returned you to the hotel.

The staff were very friendly. We asked one of them if there was anywhere that they would recommend for a drink and she advised us of a number of places to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I appreciate you posting a review. I'm apologetic for your air conditioning and the loud people. Usually, there isn't a whole lot of complaints for disturbances, but I will do my best to make sure it doesn't happen again. I hope to see you soon,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    86
    49
    31
    19
See reviews for
55
63
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnsboro, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Room was clean and updated. I did notice an old musty smell of cigarette smoke that had been partially covered by new paint. When I arrived at the hotel, they had booked us in upstairs rooms and I requested downstairs rooms. They accommodated us. But a few hours later, as everyone was falling asleep, other guests were given a key to our room and unlocked the door. We went back to sleep and the phone rang at 4 AM. It was the front desk with further confusion about us being in that room. They gave us the card key that they programmed for that room! No complaints about the room, it was fine for one night, but they really need to get their night time desk help better acquainted with the card key/check in system.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms on the end are close to the parking lot and quiet, unless the staff rings the phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I appreciate you posting your experience. I'm sorry that you had such a terrible experience at the office, and I will be sure to talk to the employees about this. Thank you so much for helping us understand your problems so that we may not make to same mistakes again. Thanks for your time,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Kym always takes care of me. She helps make the stay pleasant. I stay here every time I am in Amarillo. They are always friendly and helpful. They always make you feel welcome. The rooms are clean and we have never had any trouble.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I am thankful that you enjoyed your stays with us. Also, I appreciate the review posting because it helps us improve every post. I hope to see you soon,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very small. The chair at the desk hit the bed behind it if you wanted to sit there. The wifi didnt work. Water pressure in the shower sucked big time. The fan in the bathroom was obnoxiously loud and it came on with the light..middle of the night bathroom trips or early showers woke everyone up. The beds were decent but the blankets were worn and scratchy. The breakfast was very limited...waffles muffins or cereal...and there wasnt enough seating to accommodate the guests. The pool looked nice but I didnt get a chance to use it. I suppose the place works for somewhere to crash but I wouldnt want to spend more than a night there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I am terribly sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay. I apologize for all the inconveniences from the shower to the lack of space. I'll be sure to send your complaints to the appropriate departments, and I hope you'll give us a second chance next time you're in town. Thanks,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not a bad place. Tub was horribly clogged so we had to switch rooms, but everything else was fine. We really liked the staff because they were extremely friendly and were nice to our dogs. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo to accommodate you, and i'm happy that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the drain mix-up, but it is now under control. I hope to see you soon,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very disappointed! When we booked the day prior they had a pool. But when we checked in the pool was broke. Used wash cloth still in the tub from past guess. Room smells! Highly recommend somewhere else!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm very sorry about the pool and the rest of your stay. As for the pool, we had an incident prior to your stay, and we were draining and cleaning the pool to fix it for our customers. However, I'm sorry you didn't get what you wanted. I'll be sure to get your complaints to the concerning employees, and i'll be sure it doesn't happen in the future. Thank you for giving us you feedback,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was disappointing from top to bottom. The rooms are run down, drain did not work, room details and repairs not resolved (e.g., metal patch around shower faucet did not cover entire wall and water leaked into the wall behind), peeling paint everywhere. The breakfast was absolutely pure reduced carbs. Not one piece of fruit and no protein. Finally, all fabrics were laden with polyester. Bedspreads and curtains completely old-school.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm truly apologetic for your experience with us. I'll be sure to take your complaints to the appropriate departments so that future customers will not have the same problems. I hope you will forgive us and come again.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo

Address: 1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
#13 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of I-40 on Exit #71, Red Roof Amarillo is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Tri-State Fairground, the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum, and Amarillo College. We’re also close to Palo Duro Canyon State Park, perfect for hiking and biking, the cities of Canyon, Hereford, Borger and Pampa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.