We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, but unorganized in the check-in dept” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Amarillo East to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Winnsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean room, but unorganized in the check-in dept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Room was clean and updated. I did notice an old musty smell of cigarette smoke that had been partially covered by new paint. When I arrived at the hotel, they had booked us in upstairs rooms and I requested downstairs rooms. They accommodated us. But a few hours later, as everyone was falling asleep, other guests were given a key to our room and unlocked the door. We went back to sleep and the phone rang at 4 AM. It was the front desk with further confusion about us being in that room. They gave us the card key that they programmed for that room! No complaints about the room, it was fine for one night, but they really need to get their night time desk help better acquainted with the card key/check in system.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms on the end are close to the parking lot and quiet, unless the staff rings the phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I appreciate you posting your experience. I'm sorry that you had such a terrible experience at the office, and I will be sure to talk to the employees about this. Thank you so much for helping us understand your problems so that we may not make to same mistakes again. Thanks for your time,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    97
    60
    39
    21
See reviews for
73
68
37
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Kym always takes care of me. She helps make the stay pleasant. I stay here every time I am in Amarillo. They are always friendly and helpful. They always make you feel welcome. The rooms are clean and we have never had any trouble.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I am thankful that you enjoyed your stays with us. Also, I appreciate the review posting because it helps us improve every post. I hope to see you soon,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very small. The chair at the desk hit the bed behind it if you wanted to sit there. The wifi didnt work. Water pressure in the shower sucked big time. The fan in the bathroom was obnoxiously loud and it came on with the light..middle of the night bathroom trips or early showers woke everyone up. The beds were decent but the blankets were worn and scratchy. The breakfast was very limited...waffles muffins or cereal...and there wasnt enough seating to accommodate the guests. The pool looked nice but I didnt get a chance to use it. I suppose the place works for somewhere to crash but I wouldnt want to spend more than a night there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I am terribly sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay. I apologize for all the inconveniences from the shower to the lack of space. I'll be sure to send your complaints to the appropriate departments, and I hope you'll give us a second chance next time you're in town. Thanks,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not a bad place. Tub was horribly clogged so we had to switch rooms, but everything else was fine. We really liked the staff because they were extremely friendly and were nice to our dogs. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo to accommodate you, and i'm happy that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the drain mix-up, but it is now under control. I hope to see you soon,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very disappointed! When we booked the day prior they had a pool. But when we checked in the pool was broke. Used wash cloth still in the tub from past guess. Room smells! Highly recommend somewhere else!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm very sorry about the pool and the rest of your stay. As for the pool, we had an incident prior to your stay, and we were draining and cleaning the pool to fix it for our customers. However, I'm sorry you didn't get what you wanted. I'll be sure to get your complaints to the concerning employees, and i'll be sure it doesn't happen in the future. Thank you for giving us you feedback,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel was disappointing from top to bottom. The rooms are run down, drain did not work, room details and repairs not resolved (e.g., metal patch around shower faucet did not cover entire wall and water leaked into the wall behind), peeling paint everywhere. The breakfast was absolutely pure reduced carbs. Not one piece of fruit and no protein. Finally, all fabrics were laden with polyester. Bedspreads and curtains completely old-school.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with the Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm truly apologetic for your experience with us. I'll be sure to take your complaints to the appropriate departments so that future customers will not have the same problems. I hope you will forgive us and come again.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First room had tiles missing in tub/ shower combo. Faucet nose did not engage shower fully. Next room we moved to had better shower pressure and no missing tiles. Patchwork around rooms on walls. A/C adequate. Budget hotel yes, stay here again?? No, but they do have adequate truck parking available! !

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn. I'm deeply sorry that you didn't have the stay you expected, and that your room was not adequate. I hope you may give us a second chance and will consider us again despite your last experience. Thank you,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn East Amarillo Texas
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites
Baymont Inn & Suites
#28 of 69 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#24 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#37 of 69 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo/Central
Super 8 Amarillo/Central
#31 of 69 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Address: 1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo East is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaruant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo East features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.