We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Amarillo East to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stay here three times a week. Great motel and Sarai at the front desk gets you checked in and you are on your way! People here really take care of you! Lots of places to eat and shop. Very clean, nice walking area. Beds are great just a great place to stay. For one night or family out on vacation you can not go wrong with Red Roof.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We appreciate you choosing us, and are thankful to have customers like you. Thanks for the feedback, as it helps us become a better Red Roof Inn. Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    87
    52
    33
    20
See reviews for
60
63
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Searcy, Arkansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is and older motel but everything about the motel is very nice. It is very clean, beds and pillows are very nice. Everyone trys to make sure you have a pleasant stay.
The team member that I dealt with SARAI was very nice at my checkout.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We update our rooms regularly, and are glad you enjoyed your experience. Thanks for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

place is clean bed was fine too . have stayed in a lot worse and paid more .. well worth the price .. wifi worked really good there better than in some much pricer hotels .. staff is friendly and seem to care that you have a good night at there hotel .. sis not have any problem getting to the hotel or in gett back on to the interstate in the morning .. will stop in again ..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are elated to know that you liked your stay, and hope you will return soon. Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'm tardy in writing this review but wanted to make sure that I did so. We stayed for 1 night in November 2012.

I initially experienced a major malfunction in booking our room online. It was set up for the wrong date and, consequently, we appeared to be "no shows." UGH.

I appealed to the manager of the Red Roof Inn and he was ultimately very kind and accomodating; allowing us to book our return trip stay and no additional charge.

This level of customer service deserves to be recognized. Thank you. Thank you very much.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are elated to find that all your troubles were solved during your stay. I appreciate you sharing your judgement of Red Roof Inn Amarillo.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had to stay overnight with my family on my way to Houston recently. Although the exteriors didn't look so appealing, the room was in excellent condition. The room didn't smell, beds were clean, gadgets all worked as expected. The room was generally very clean. I was very happy with everything. The free breakfast was as good as can be expected. The wireless connection was choppy and very slow; I aborted my attempts at using Internet after a few trials. Based upon this stay alone, I'd give it an Excellent rating; not so after my next one though.

We decided to stay at the same place on our return trip also. But this time I wasn't as lucky. Of course, the room was clean with no smell as before, but a couple of things prevent me from giving this hotel an Excellent rating. The bathroom looked old (tub stained, paint peeling) and I thought it could use some minor improvements. But worse, the heater in the room started making this loud noise after running for a couple of hours of my check-in at night and during my sleep. I had to tinker with the fan speed and heating levels to quieten it. But the problem occurred again after another couple of hours. I had to do this about 3 times in the night to ensure that at least rest of my family slept well while my sleep was shot. I don't think most rooms could be as bad, but I do feel that the rooms could use some regular maintenance or checks.

The place is good for a night's crash on your way to somewhere. I found the location to be convenient from an accessibility standpoint (next to the Interstate). I didn't see any supermarkets or other shops nearby but then I didn't go looking for them. Anyway, I'd rate it between Excellent and Average.

Room Tip: Check if the room-heater rumbles after running for sometime. Non-smoking rooms are very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are truly sorry, on our behalf, that you had difficulties during your stay. Your heater may have been noisy, and I will attempt to make sure it doesn't happen to another guest. Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I hope your next visit is beyond your expectations.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at this Red Roof Inn for the past few weeks due to a temp. job relocation. I have foound it to be peaceful, affordable, and the staff has been very helpful. The hotel is not a new facility yet the staff maintains it's cleanliness and up keep. For the price it was very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I am excited to know that you liked your stay. We are glad that the room was sufficient for your needs, and you liked your overall experience. Thanks for choosing Red Roof Inn, and I hope to see you here soon!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was forced to stop in Amarillo because of a snowstorm, however was very glad that I ended up taking the exit that led to this hotel. The manager (Sarai) and staff were friendly and helpful, the room was perfectly clean (I did not see any pet hair anywhere), and the hot continental breakfast was adequate. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Address: 1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
#14 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo East is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaruant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo East features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.