We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Amarillo East to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Above average budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here twice when traveling between Tucson and St. Louis. It is conveniently located near the interstate and allows cats. The rooms are somewhat worn, but clean and comfortable. It was not luxurious, but above average for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    101
    62
    42
    22
See reviews for
78
72
39
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last night. This hotel is dirty outdated, furniture is broken & dilapidated We didnt walk barefooted, the carpet was gross. Di rt on the doors and walls. The pillows were hard as wood. I had to finally get rid of it!!!!! The staff was apologetic & nice, which is the only positive about the hotel. Dont be misled by the 4 star rating. It is totally false!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

After reading the other reviews we stayed here on a trip from Colorado to Texas. The room was awful!! The carpets were dirty, the room was tiny, the towels were threadbare, the bed was hard, and the pillow was so hard that I tossed it during the night rather than get a stiff neck.
It did offer a continental breakfast, breads, cereals, waffles, biscuits and gravy, juices and coffee. I don't see how this hotel possibly ranked #11!!

Room Tip: We had a bottom floor room in the annexed section at the back of the hotel. Stay away from these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

After reading the great reviews here, we were disappointed in what we found. The room smelled so bad that I asked for another one (and re-iterated "non-smoking"!), but the second one smelled just the same. The coffee pot was missing its carafe, and the whole place was pretty decrepit and shabby. I'm accustomed to staying in budget hotels, so I don't think I have unrealistic expectations.

A few good things: the breakfast was good, and the staff was on the ball keeping the food replenished and the area clean. It was convenient to have a fridge and microwave in the room.

Still, I don't think we'll be staying there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

After a hard day's drive we were pleasantly surprised to find one of the cleanest rooms we've ever stayed at...(and we have stayed many places in many countries.) When we went for our breakfast, again we couldn't believe how clean everything was and what a wonderful breakfast awaited us. Gilbert was busy making sure we had everything we needed and wiping tables etc. Melisa and Gilbert were also so helpful at the desk...We will be return quest and highly recommend this Red Roof.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Roof was clean and everyting worked. Carpet worn, but clean with few spots. TV was CRT, but worked fine and cable was complete. Wi Fi ok. Bed, Bath and table alright. Water hot, AC good. Chair stained.

Staff friendly and breakfast good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stopped there on our way to Santa Fe. For the price, it's hard to beat. The room was really clean compare to other Red Roof (we visited 4 this month...) and the staff was friendly. It's located near the ''shopping'' area and just off the highway, wich is perfect for a one night stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn East Amarillo Texas
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites
Baymont Inn & Suites
#27 of 69 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#36 of 69 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo/Central
Super 8 Amarillo/Central
#34 of 69 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Address: 1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo East is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaruant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo East features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.