We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AC was a little wonky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashmore Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ashmore Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashmore Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 I-40 East, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE SAVE ON RATES
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Amarillo
Nanjing
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“AC was a little wonky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was huge and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only issue was the AC seemed as if it hadn't been run in awhile and it took a long time to get going. The first night it was just blowing warm, damp air around and it made the carpet feel damp. We left it on all day the next day and it was fine the next night. We slept well, lots of parking, decent breakfast and really reasonable rates. The staff were polite and helpful, but there's not a lot to do in the nearby vicinity other than some skeezy hotels, a Cracker Barrel and a scary looking Gentlemen's Club.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina U, General Manager at Ashmore Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello from the Ashmore Inn and thank you so much for taking the time to write your review I appreciate it very much. I apologize for the wonky AC not working the first night.I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and had a comfortable bed. We appreciate all feedback . Looking forward to seeing you again real soon.
Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    61
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
50
57
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice clean, comfortable hotel right off the interstate. Reasonable rates with a pretty good free breakfast including eggs, sausage patties and bacon. Fairly large, clean rooms with good TV and Wifi. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina U, General Manager at Ashmore Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review I am very pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. We appreciate your comments all feedback is welcomed I hope when you are in our area you will visit again soon.
Warm Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
576 reviews 576 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is modern and well maintained. Don't expect trendy luxury because this place is more the honest-stay-for-a-reasonable-price kinda place. The staff were helpful and courteous. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina U, Manager at Ashmore Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review, we appreciate all feedback from our valued guest. We are so happy you had a comfortable stay while in Amarillo Texas. We try to excel with customer service and we appreciate your time.We try very hard to maintain our property. We are looking forward to your return visit very soon
Warm Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We spent a night here while traveling through the area. The room was comfortable although the bathroom counter area was a bit small and cluttered. The bed was great - no problem sleeping here - and breakfast more than ample with lots of choices. It's in a great location away from traffic, too. If you have the time to look online you might try pre-paying for this room with Priceline. We did and found the room was $5 less than if booked through the hotel directly or through one of the other booking sites...but that may have been a one-time deal. If you have the time to look while on the road, you certainly should try.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina M, Manager at Ashmore Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear BDiekema,
Hello, I am glad to hear you had a good nights sleep and was able to enjoy our deluxe breakfast. I do apologize for the bathroom counter area being cluttered. I will defiantly check it out and see what we can do to change that. I hope you stop in again to see us next time your through the area.
Happy Travels, Kristina Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My family has stayed at the Ashmore several times on our way to Red River, N.M. We have always had a good experience, but this stay was not the best. There were several large family groups, which strained the resources of the Inn. We arrived at 3:00 p.m. And only one of our rooms was ready. We're flexible, so used the one room to change for the pool. When we arrived at the pool, there were no pool towels, and despite a request to the front desk, there were never pool towels. We had to go to the room to get towels. To be fair, this is a common problem with facilities with pools. Later that evening, there were a few towels. (Secret tip, get the towels when you first go in!) The breakfast buffet runs until 10:00 a.m. On Sundays. Again, with the maximum occupancy, the waffle batter had to be replaced, the cutlery and milk ran out and had to be replaced. They were replaced, but there was only one attendant, so, of course it took a while. Bacon was never replaced. This is a decent breakfast buffet, though. In previous stays when we didn't hit the rush hour buffet, it has been a much more relaxed experience. The Inn is showing some wear; carpet in the elevator is dirty . The magnetic keys to the outside doors, pool, workout area only worked about half the time. This resulted in some patrons propping the outside door open, which negated any safety aspect of the "key " only entry. This is supposed to be a nonsmoking facility, but our room smelled like smoke. My mom really likes the Cracker Barrel that is just across the parking lot and we enjoy the indoor pool and hot tub after several hours in the car. There is a complimentary limo service to the Big Texan steak restaurant. Good luck on eating that 72 oz. steak!!! With all of the constructive criticism, we would stay again, if stopping in Amarillo. Economical room rate, pool, breakfast buffet, easy on and off interstate are pluses.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina M, Manager at Ashmore Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear ladyag89, Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you liked about your stay and what we can improve on in the future. Here at the Ashmore Inn & Suites we take pride in our customer satisfaction. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your last stay. We will take everything you said into consideration and do our best to "WOW" you during your next stay with us. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Sincerely, Kristina Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was surprised at the landscaping at the back of the hotel. Loved the pagoda. Indoor pool was great! The view from our room on the second floor was beautiful at night. I liked the added security of having to use your keycard to get into the hotel. Hotel staff was very nice and the breakfast was very good. I couldn't get comfortable on the bed but I am used to a little softer mattress. We only stayed overnight but this would be a great place for an extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina M, Manager at Ashmore Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear mvidich,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you back for a longer stay. Maybe we can get you a room next time with a little softer bed. Our views here at the Ashmore Inn & Suites are amazing and we take pride in keeping the property looking beautiful all year round. Hope to see you again soon, Kristina Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is an above average property with a very high rating. The entry is nice and the exterior is above average, but the rest is very, well, "average". The hallways and carpeting is dingy. The rooms are nice size and beds are ok, but again the carpet is a bit dated and needs more attention. There is a nice breakfast (except for the bad coffee) but the space is crowded and it closes at 9am.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina M, Manager at Ashmore Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear twinsontheroad,
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our hotel to be an above average property. I am sorry to hear that our carpets were not above average as the rest of the property. We are working on getting new carpet in the near future. We hope the next time you come to stay with us you will find that the whole hotel including the carpet is above average. Thanks again for your review. Have an amazing day!
Sincerely, Kristina Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashmore Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Inn & Suites

Address: 2301 I-40 East, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashmore Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ashmore Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Inn And Suites
Ashmore Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Ashmore Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashmore Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.