We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE NIGHT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashmore Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ashmore Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Ashmore Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 I-40 East, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE SAVE ON RATES
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ONE NIGHT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very friendly staff, great location easy to locate right off I-40. was ready early, Clean room,carpet and tile felt clean even in bare feet , great bed, easy parking, free wifi. Quite no noise issue. Perfect for more than a one night stay as well

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    62
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
52
60
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We reserved a room with Ashmore Inn & Suites Amarillo during a road trip a few weeks ago. I used Expedia, and as usual, it was easy and the price was acceptable. Except - Ashmore advertised a pool and spa, something we REQUIRE for our daughter. Riding 8 hours, even in her custom car seat is hard on her. I even called the hotel the day prior to make sure the pool was in service. When we arrived, we were told the pool was down, it's heater broken. What about the spa? It was fine, but also closed to prevent guests from hitting the pool anyway. That's a deal killer for us. The clerk was rude, informing us that we'd be charged whether we stayed or not. We went to a competitor across the parking lot, paid $20 less and got access to a fine pool and a spa. I contacted both Expedia and the hotel, and both refused a refund. The attitude was tough luck, we've got your money, we don't care - rude, Rude, RUDE!

Room Tip: Calling ahead to confirm amenities didn't work. And they said they closed the spa because guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We discovered the Ashmore a few years ago on our travels. We decided to stop for the night and opted to stay after another option didn't meet expectations. We were delighted with our choice. We have continued to make this hotel a stopping point in Amarillo, as needed.

We usually arrive late and don't have time for the amenities offered except breakfast the next morning. My husband found this hotel and it is difficult to navigate from the interstate. However, we like the large parking lot, nice lobby and the efficient, clean, comfortable rooms.

Our last stay was just as we expected. The breakfast/dining room has televisions, something I would not expect here. Also, the gazebo in the back adds a nice, friendly touch to the overall atmosphere. Our room was perfectly clean, everything was in good order and our bed, as always, was great.

The only observation, not necessarily a complaint, is that the front desk will phone before check-out time to remind visitors to check out. Understandably, check out does mean check out. However, after staying in 5 star hotels and paying much more, this seems unreasonable and simply not a good business practice. Of course, this defies logic because we return. Still, the staff makes me feel like I'm going to owe them for 10 extra minutes, if we don't get out. Since they make us get out early (which we should do anyway) this is a great motivator! Just a personal pet peeve, not a complaint!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room close to an entrance so you don't have to roll luggage down a long hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birminghm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We used hotwire and were assigned this hotel that said it was similar to an embassy suites. This was not true at all. The room smelt TERRIBLE and it was covered in dust. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. They moved us to a different room but it was worse. We checked in and immediately checked out. The lady was nice about it, that was the only good thing.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Heading back from our family ski trip in Colorado over Spring Break (March 8th-16th), we ran into some rough weather in NE New Mexico and the panhandle of Texas. We were also traveling with our friends and their 2 children, so we knew we were going to have to stop for the night because of the weather and to get some rest. On the trip up to Colorado, our friends had stayed the night at the Ashmore Inn already, so they suggested that we stay there as they had enjoyed their stay. Not having heard of the Ashmore Inn before, I was very skeptical about the recommendation but decided to give it a shot.

We arrived late (around 11:30 p.m.) and the hotel was very, very full! Almost to capacity. Luckily we had booked the room earlier on the trip down! Check in was a breeze! Sign here, sign there, here's your key and you're on your way! With the hotel being super crowded, we had to park around the back. The hotel is right off the highway, so the area appears to be a bit "sketchy", but nothing happened to us or our belongings during our 1 night stay.

Once up in the room, we were surprised to find that the room was very spacious. Along with the spaciousness was the feeling of staying in a 1950's hospital (since each wall was bright white, and decorations in the room were very sparse). The Ashmore Inn definitely does not spend its profits on room decor....... :)

The kids stayed on the pullout sleeper sofa bed - and they were happy. We adults were happy to find that the bed was comfortable and inviting. The room was also very clean - no complaints in that department.

Where the hotel exceeded our expectations was in the service that was offered. Employees were very friendly and courteous and the hotel appeared to be well cared for. Breakfast the next morning was SUPER crowded - not a chair in sight in the dining room. Noticing this, the staff opened up one of the conference rooms as overflow space for guests that could not find a place to sit and eat in the main dining area. Plus points for that!

Checkout was super simple! No complaints here! Overall, while the hotel will not wow your senses, it is a very good hotel to stay at if you are passing through Amarillo! My family was pleasantly surprised with the level of value we received with our stay at the Ashmore Inn!

Room Tip: The hotel is surprisingly large. Get their early if you want to have close parking and room proximi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We got in late and we were exhausted! I was sceptical when my husband booked this hotel because I've never heard of the name. Room was clean and bed was comfy. Hallways probably could use some new carpet and recpection area a bit gaudy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was tastefully decorated and is well maintained. It has a good size dining area for breakfast. The bathroom was large, clean and worked well. It is an older facility and the age shows in some places. One of our sheets was getting pretty thin and should be replaced but it was clean. The room was quiet. We could not hear neighbors and, conversely, our TV could not be heard from the hall with the door closed. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashmore Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Inn & Suites

Address: 2301 I-40 East, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashmore Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ashmore Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Inn And Suites
Ashmore Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Ashmore Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashmore Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.