We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Quiet and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashmore Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ashmore Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Ashmore Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 I-40 East, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE SAVE ON RATES
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
North Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Quiet and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was tastefully decorated and is well maintained. It has a good size dining area for breakfast. The bathroom was large, clean and worked well. It is an older facility and the age shows in some places. One of our sheets was getting pretty thin and should be replaced but it was clean. The room was quiet. We could not hear neighbors and, conversely, our TV could not be heard from the hall with the door closed. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    67
    39
    14
    13
See reviews for
54
72
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Wow. I have stayed in some awful places, but this was one of the worst. The outside looked fantastic, so we figured that the inside would be just as great --nope! The dated interior led to a creepy hotel room. The bed was hard and sloped at the headboard so forget sleeping soundly. There were stains on the sheets and the chemical smell in the room was overwhelming. What a terrible experience, especially for the outrageous price they charged per night.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Absolutely welcoming staff upon arrival and helpful. My non-smoking room as expected in this nice hotel. Clean and well equipped. Everything to my satisfaction. As well as the breakfast with a good choice. Very good with quick WiFi connection. Easy to find, and good parking facilities.

Room Tip: Room 1st floor facing the inner garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel was 5 stars for us. Nice clean quiet room. We had a king bed which was comfortable. Happy hour (cocktails & nachos) & breakfast were great! Eggs, sausage, waffles, biscuits & gravy, rolls, & cereal were on the breakfast menu. The only drawback was it was a little difficult getting to the hotel from exit 71 which is only a one way. So take exit 72A east or west & then come back west on the one way. Located behind Cracker Barrel. We would stay there again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Not withstanding Amarillo isnt the prettiest town, I didnt see this experience as anything above the average - a decent enough room and sleep was about it.

Most of the equipment in the gym was out of order, and the breakfast was well below standard, no fruit or fresh produce at all, everything re-constituted and/or watered down, coffee undrinkable. Had to go elsewhere and buy breakfast which added to the cost of the night.

In all, this place is either over-rated, or the hotels in this part of the world are pretty crummy, probably a bit of both.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very good value for money.
Room clean and spacious. Some decor a little “old” but nothing to moan about.
Bed very comfy, good quality bedding.
Shower worked well, but towels a little old.
Easy access to fast Wi-Fi.
A little road & guest noise, but not a problem at all, booking staff very helpful.
Good breakfast, good range of hot items and usual cold options.
Complimentary happy hour Mon- Thur 6-7 a very welcome touch.
Enjoyed our stay, would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: This Motel is hard to locate, ask for directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha Area
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The front desk staff was Excellent - I mean they were so helpful and kind and considerate - it has been a long time since I encountered that great of a staff. The hotel was very clean and for the most part very quiet. My room was great and had a frig and microwave - but older TV and sometimes the channels would all go fuzzy for long periods of time.

The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were all small and odd sizes with various levels of hardness or softness to them - but they had the wrong size pillow cases on them which caused them to open during sleep and you would find your head on the inner portion of the pillow rather than the protected part. The maids were very good at cleaning and there were no issues.

My complaints are that the Spa-Jacuzzi was broken the whole time I was there and there was a sign at the front desk announcing this. I asked if the pool and fitness center were open and was told they were, but later discovered they had signs on them saying out of order too. And then the internet in the business center was not always working either. So when you are a guest in a hotel and that many things are not working for four nights, including fuzzy channels on tv as mentioned above, it is not nearly as good of an experience that it could have been.

The breakfast area was nice, but I would suggest adding flavored creams to the coffee bar, and also checking on it as I would come back in the later evening to discover that there was no coffee at all available for anyone. But the breakfast area was clean and the evening snacks and drinks were a nice touch too. Add bananas or raisins for the oatmeal too.

Overall it was a pretty good experience, but I could not go above average in the rating with the pool, spa and fitness center all closed. When I inquired about them no one seemed to even know they were closed, and then they did not know why or for how long.

It also snowed and was very icy one morning, and the walks and driveways were not cleaned so they were very slippery. Having those areas cleaned early in the day would help those leaving the hotel. I was leaving at 9:00 a.m. and the sun had been up for awhile, but was so cold that the ice was not melting.

Having said all of that though, I would be willing to stay again because I think they just had some bad breaks the days I was there and like I stated, the staff was really very very nice and helpful and that is certainly a plus!

Room Tip: any room facing the back lake area is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ashmore Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Inn & Suites

Address: 2301 I-40 East, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashmore Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ashmore Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Inn And Suites
Ashmore Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Ashmore Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashmore Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.