We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy, staying a 2nd night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashmore Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ashmore Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Ashmore Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 I-40 East, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE SAVE ON RATES
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yuma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very happy, staying a 2nd night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We used a discount site and got lucky. The room was clean, nice linens, comfortable bed, 32 inch flat screen TV with a large variety of stations, and speedy internet. The staff are very friendly and courteous as well. We were pleasantly surprised with complimentary cocktails from 5-7pm, and a modest dinner offering, also complimentary. The first night it was barbecue beef sandwiches with potato salad. Honestly we couldn't ask for more. Anyone who reads my reviews knows we are 'discount' travelers, and this stay has been a treat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    66
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
53
68
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good deals can be had on the Ashmore Inn & Suites on Hotwire - as a result, we stayed there for a night recently. It is a bit of an odd duck of a hotel, it probably was great thirty years ago, but everything has aged in the last three decades without much in the way of updates.

It is convenient, immediately off the I-40 but without any significant road noise, so that's nice. The night staff were nice and welcoming and had us checked in fast, though the bill they presented gave me a little heartburn - they had run my credit card and charged a total of $1600 on it! They explained it was the wrong name and said they would "fix it" (haven't yet checked my cc bill, we'll see what that happens).

Elevator is old and slow but wood-paneled and works fine. Rooms were pretty standard, with two queen sized beds whose mattresses dated back to the Ford administration (for Gen Y-ers that can be generally translated to "When Dinosaurs Walked the Earth". Sheets were rough and threadbare and it had one of those icky foam blankets on top of it. Pillows felt worn out, and some of the sheets actually were (but that's a different story). Air conditioner labored mightily (and loudly) but failed to adequately cool the room down, it got it down to the mid-70s and stuck there. On the other hand, the room had a mini-fridge, which was nice, as well as a coffee maker and Folgers coffee.

Some of the toiletries were missing - we had conditioner but no shampoo, and only decaf for the coffeemaker.

The worst part of the stay was the cleaning staff - we were wakened the following morning at 7:15 a.m. (after arriving well after midnight) by a brisk knock. As I leapt out of bed, the housekeeper tried to open the door and said, "Housekeeping!" I said, "We're still in bed, asleep. Please come back much later."

Guess what happened an hour later? Yep, housekeeping was back. This time I let her try to open the door and didn't bother trying to talk, just stuck my head under a pillow. Granted, we didn't put the "do not disturb" sign out, but check-out wasn't until noon, so why was she opening doors at 7:15?

Housekeeper and billing issues dropped a solid 3.5 down to a 2. Would prefer not to stay here again, but would stay again if necessary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Workers were courteous and they stay was nice. The hotel is just blocks away from the American Quarter Horse Museum, Cadillac Ranch, Zoo, Gas station, and yes a Wal-Mart. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We took a chance this time, using one of the hotel discount web sites to secure a great rate on a highly rated Amarillo hotel. This one was pretty highly rated on TripAdvisor as well as the discount site, so we gave it a try.

There is no doubt that we would stay at the Ashmore again because of the combination of great rate and good accommodations.

Here's the scoop -

The hotel and grounds are in great condition, and it is easily accessible to the main east-west interstate running through Amarillo.

The check-in process went smoothly and parking was plentiful and nearby the side entry door. The interior carpeting is a bit raggedy and stained - one of the few demerits. The elevator is dated with its gold metal trim, but operated quickly and smoothly.

We were on the fourth floor. Our room was a non-smoking room, but one wing of the floor is still a smoking wing. I could smell the latent smoke in the hallway as soon as I departed the elevator. It was not terrible, but if you're particularly sensitive you'd better check to see if there is a totally non-smoking floor.

The room itself was very good. There was sufficient room for a king bed plus a lounger chair and ottoman. There is a small desk and an entertainment center. The TV was in the entertainment center facing the lounge chair. The old-fashioned tube-TV can be swiveled to mostly be seen from the bed.

There is a sink outside of the shower/stool room - a convenience. The bath was typical, but lacking the favored curved shower-curtain bar. Ventilation was good, so the steam cleared up quickly. Towels and toiletries were just fine.

The bed was kind of a medium. We were exhausted after a 12 hour drive, so we slept well. The mattress was firm, but not excessive. The linens were good, but I woke up a few time in the night smelling cigarette smoke from the pillow or blanket or bed. My wife did not note the same experience.

The a/c unit was a through-the-wall unit in which the fan stays on, creating some white noise. I prefer these units to those that rattle on and off through the night. The compressor for the a/c cycled on and off silently.

The room was very quiet - I'd swear there were no other residents in the hotel.

We were so beat that we didn't try out the free internet.

Breakfast was typical - make-your-own waffles shaped like the state of Texas, fried egg-like disks, sausage/biscuits/gravey, cereal, bagels, sweetrolls, etc. The dining room was big and spotless.

For the price differential between our favorite affordable Amarillo hotel, I'd choose this one again - there was a $30 difference, and that's good enough to sway my decision!

Room Tip: Avoid the floors that are at least partially smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was our first stay and we were very impressed and if we ever go through Amarillo again, we will definitely plan on staying here again. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very quiet, clean and more spacious than most other hotels. We had a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, iron, hairdryer and if you needed anything else, believe me, the staff would go out of their way to assist you. We also felt very safe sleeping there. Breakfast was delicious and this is the only hotel I know of that offers a fabulous happy hour with free drinks (alcoholic and non-alcholic) and snacks. The hotel is in a great location with a Cracker Barrel restaurant in walking distance and lots of other great restaurants within a short drive off of Rt. 66. Also available is a free limo to the Big Texan, arranged by reception and it's convenient to the fairgrounds and AQHA museum. It is an excellent hotel in this price range. If I could rate it higher than Excellent, I would!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Great place, great price, good breakfast, nice staff. We stayed three nights and would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our second stay in four years, an obvious choice as part of our route 66 trip. Quiet, clean hotel with spacious rooms and friendly staff. Happy hour with free drinks and snacks, nice pool and hot tub. Good breakfast and a Cracker Barrel restaurant in walking distance, plenty more a short drive away. We took a free limo to the Big Texan, arranged by reception, which was fun. Convenient for the fairgrounds and AQHA museum.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms near the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashmore Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Inn & Suites

Address: 2301 I-40 East, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashmore Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashmore Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Inn And Suites
Ashmore Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Ashmore Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashmore Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.