We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, rude staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Texan Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amarillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Texan Motel
Save
You added Big Texan Motel to your Saves list
7701 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Shoal Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average hotel, rude staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Average hotel. Room was fine for budget accommodation. We locked ourselves out of the room accidentaly and when we went to the office to ask for some new keys they were extremely rude and acted like we had committed a crime and slammed the new cards down on the counter and turned their backs on us. Apart from that it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    131
    69
    33
    20
See reviews for
60
135
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles,Mo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a charming hotel. It is set up to look like an old Western town with different colors. In the middle of the lot there is a little dog park where you can sit and let your dog run loose. That was a very nice addition. The room was cute too. The window had shutters like you would see in an old time saloon.

Room Tip: Make sure you keep your dog on a leash. There are many stray cats that roam the grounds here. They d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here on our road trip home from TN to CA. It was not my first preference as we were traveling with a newly-crawling baby, but it was inexpensive and allowed pets, so it fit the bill for us. We were in the back building near the horse corals, second story. The room appeared clean, although not as fresh as I would prefer, and I pulled the bed spread off the bed as soon as I arrived because I just never know how often those are actually cleaned... We hung out in the room watching TV for about an hour before going down to enjoy the restaurant. I would say that is the biggest plus of the location of this hotel, because after 600 miles of driving that day, we had no desire to get back in the truck to find dinner or breakfast.

The air kept the room cold but we really needed extra blankets (due to pulling off the bed spread) and there were only two pillows on each bed, which meant no one really slept. It was quiet, even with most of the travelers in that building leaving before 7:30 when we finally got up to take the dog for a walk. We could smell smoke as soon as we opened the doors, as it was pouring out of some of the other hotel rooms (so weird for us because in CA there is basically no smoking allowed anywhere!).

I viewed this hotel as I viewed the Wigwams in Holbrook, AZ. They are kitschy. They are an experience. They will make your six year old son giddy with excitement. They are great for a one-night stay, and they will create awesome memories and wonderful photo ops, but they aren't a place I would stay in more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Big Texan theme certainly continues from the restaurant to the motel. The outside of the motel is painted consistent with the theme, and I really liked that; however, because of the theme, which uses a lot of wood, I felt like our room was a bit dark. One of the dark brown bed covers had stains on it, and I found that troublesome. The room was okay, and there certainly was good pressure in the shower. The coolest part for me was the wooden shutters in place of curtains.

WiFi worked well, and it was nice to have an easily accessible guest laundry as we needed one. The shape of the pool is cool; it is in the shape of the state of Texas, but we were not able to use it. It was shut down for some reason.

There is no breakfast with this room, but those staying are given $2 off the $12 breakfast in the restaurant. It was not worth it for us, so we went to Cracker Barrel down the road.

We got a AAA discount. Had we not, I would have felt like we paid way too much for the room, but with the discount, I could live with the charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We traveled the Route 66 and spend one night in Amarillo. The Big Texan Motel is a very nice place to stay. The hotel looks good and has a special western style. The rooms are also equipped with wood and western style furniture.
You feels like you are in a western movie. :-)
Opposite the motel is the Steak Ranch. Here can you eat very good steaks. When you are very hungry than can you take part in a competion. When you can eat a 72oz (2 kilo) Steak, a backed potato, a small bun, three prawns, a small salad and a soft drink within one hour, than you must not pay for your food. Good look.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here one night fun rooms with Texan decor, nice pool and fun restaurant. Texas rose wallpaper in bathroom! What a hoot! A bit pricey for the amenities but well worth the stay for a taste of the old west!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Room was a themed room cow patterned bed spread. Flys were all in room and it had rustic cowboy feel. Bathroom was big room on General was was spacious stayed July 1st going to stay again the 12 th so could not been that bad.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Texan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Texan Motel

Address: 7701 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Big Texan Hotel Amarillo
Big Texan Amarillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Texan Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.