We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique surprise downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crush

Crush
701 S. Polk, Amarillo, TX 79101
806.418.2011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 416 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Outstanding wine cellar and light, fresh lunch and dinner menus in a great location in the middle of downtown. Outside tables and banquet space in addition to main seating area.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
542 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Unique surprise downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Lots of place say "wine bar", and here in Amarillo I questioned what it would be like. But great presentation. Nice selection of chilled by the glass wines coming from a temperature controlled pour system. Greater wine list and selection, I think reasonably priced, but have to question thine pour size of 6 ounces, as it looked a little anemic to me, but I could be wrong. But the big surprise was the unique presentation on some standards. I had fried chicken breast that was big, plump and moist, with a most pleasant preparation and light tasty batter. Combined with creamed corn and drizzled with a honey...this combination of taste was off the chart. Wish I was here to try something else. Server was great, friendly and informative. Came by enough to refill my wine. Get off the highway and drive five minutes downtown to try this.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amarillo Goes Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We needed a nice meal after a full day on the road and decided to give Crush a try. It seemed a little odd that there were no "2-top" tables when we came in, so we seated ourselves at a larger table that was open. The first thing the waitress mentioned to us was to say that if we weren't expecting any others in our party, would we mind moving if a larger group came in and needed our table. A bit odd, and it never happened, by the way. Salads and entrees were very good, and the wine list was extensive. Outdoor patio seating available and oddly, many people out there hitting the electronic cigarette/pipe things. I'd give it another try the next time I pass through Amarillo, as we're always looking for something local/non-chain off of the interstate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Da bomb digg diggity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is my Friday spot. The meals are on point and relatively cost-effective compared to other top restaurants in town. Highly recommend the trout. Also the best wine selection in town, served by a great team.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Enjoyable Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have eaten here a couple times, with a friend, friends, and by myself at the bar. I can't say I've had a bad meal or any bad service! The wait staff is nice, laid back and helpful! I went in when I had just moved to town and these guys had all sorts of helpful information about where I should go and what was fun to do! The food is amazing! Their Saturday morning french toast was the best thing I've done for myself in awhile;) Took my sister here since she is super into wine and she was so impressed with their selection. Quinoa salad is pretty amazing too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE Place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you only have one night for a great meal in Amarillo, go to Crush. The food selection is excellent, as is the wine selection and the service. It is located downtown, half a block from the Courtyard Marriott Downtown, which I also recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crush also viewed

 

Been to Crush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.