We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amarillo KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amarillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amarillo KOA
Save
You added Amarillo KOA to your Saves list
1100 Folsom Rd, Amarillo, TX 79108   |  
Hotel amenities
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a tent in the campground last May. First of all, I would say that we went to many KOAs both in the US and Canada in our lives, and this is the KOA we found had the nicest décorations (see pictures). It is really beautiful. The people at the reception were so nice and helpful. They gave us coupons to get discounts at attractions nearby. They also gave very good advice. Their shop is very complete and you can also buy plenty of souvenirs. You can buy specialized very good coffee in the morning. I got the caramel coffee and it was awesome!

Our stay in the tent was very quiet even though my husband didn't sleep so well because of a few trains running at night nearby. As for me, it didn't disturb me really because it was not that loud. We heard a lot of much louder trains during the rest of our trip in the Panhandle (trains seem to be very important and everwhere in that area). We were not disturbed at all by the airport nearby. The whole area has been suffering from a severe drought for years. As a result, the employees told me how they have to water even the big trees regularly. So the grass in not very nice but it is not their fault.

We really enjoyed the swimming pool and appreciated that they opened it before Memorial Day as it was so hot outside. Restrooms and showers were VERY clean but you need a code to get in (I kept forgetting it and had to check again many times on our registration paper... best not to lose it, ha ha!).

You have many restaurants and grocery stores (as well as a Walmart) to choose from nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Currituck, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

As others said the staff is very nice and place clean. We stayed one night and got a chance to see things. No shade and very windy since the sites are in a open field. Train we only heard twice during day & planes stopped early night. We paid 41.00 full hook up 30amp. That might have been with our KOA discount of 3.00. If you want to eat at the famous Big Texan Steak House the Restaurant picks people up Free right at your site and it's great. Just tell the KOA desk and they make the arrangements. Try & make a point to go because just what you see there along with the great food is worth it. Cost of dinner is $17.00 up but it includes the fun atmosphere. Take your camera. Check out my review on the Restaurant. Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I did not give this an excellent rating because I don't like campgrounds that resemble a parking lot. Everything else about this place was excellent. The pool was nice (but cold). The site was level, the staff was friendly, the bathrooms were clean.
Some reviewers commented about noise from trains and aircraft. I did hear a train, it was quiet. You have to listen to hear it. The airport is next door, but planes quit taking off around 9 pm. It wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This KOA was top notch. They gave us a great site for our tent. The camp hosts were very nice and provided information on the area. We enjoyed our stay there. The bath facilities were very clean and the grounds were in good shape.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I was driving from South Texas to Denver and Amarillo was a good point to stop at after 12 hours of driving. I considered staying at a state park in the area but figured since I was traveling alone I would feel safer camping at a Koa. I made my reservation over the phone and as I drove through the city to the Koa I kept kicking myself because there were dozens of motels along the way for just a few bucks more than what I paid to camp!

Anyway, I got in and it was already dark so I pretty much just went to find my flyer with the codes on it to use the shower and then went to sleep. The camping pads are groomed really well and I was really happy because it was quite comfortable to camp on a lovely cool night. I left before the office opened so I never met any of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We arrived late and departed early so can only speak to our specific site experience. Easy access from I-40. Sites are really packed in close together. Had full RV hookup and everything worked. Registered and paid first thing next morning. A bit pricey for what we received but that seems to be the case at all KOAs on this extended trip. Was fine for our short stay. Self contained and didn't use any amenities other than RV hookups. As another reviewer stated, this campground is near the train tracks and airport. We typically run white noise at night so this wasn't bothersome to our sleep. I can see how it would be a problem without the white noise though.
Adequate for an overnight stay. Not a destination by any stretch.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We arrived on a saturday night at about 6:30. The hosts informed us there were leaving at 6:45. We pulled into our site. Promptly at 7:00 pm the motors started up at the motorcycle raceway a stone's throw away. No wonder they left at 6:45, they knew no-one would think about checking in with all that noise. We were kept up until close to 11PM by the noise of the racetrack. Very unhappy, we won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
11.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 69 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
6.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#24 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
12.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarillo KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarillo KOA

Address: 1100 Folsom Rd, Amarillo, TX 79108
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Amarillo
Number of rooms: 123

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarillo KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.