We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel needs a considerable amount of upgrading” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3930 Interstate 40 East, I-40 at Grand Street, Exit #72-B, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Motel 6 Amarillo East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 67 hotels in Amarillo
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel needs a considerable amount of upgrading”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Granted the price was great for this hotel stay, however as they say, "you get what you paid for". In other words, though I've had good stays at ABVI's before, this one was not good. Here are the negatives (there really weren't any positive's): The bed was uncomfortable and you could feel the springs thru the mattress; there were two long black hairs in my bath towel; there knob on the AC/Heat wall unit to be able adjust the temperature was missing; the door activation deadbolt kept releasing so the only way to close the door to your room was to reinsert your key card and then hold the handle open to close the door. As I read reviews that were positive I can't figure out where in the world they are coming from. I'm rarely critical about a place I stay, but this one deserved everything I've written here,

Room Tip: Until they upgrade this location, stay at another hotel; there is another ABVI in the city that look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are updating the hotel with new beds and have fixed the problem you had in your room. We hope that you will come and see all that we have done. Thanks, AL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
7
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The room I got was updated quite nicely. The bed is the most comfortable one that I have slept in for months, and much superior to other hotels. Definately an upper end mattress and box spring. They room had a large refrigerator and a great microwave. The lighting is very good, and I felt very safe staying alone. The shower is newer and the water is much hotter than most other hotels. And, the employees and staff are extremely attentive and helpful. There is a laundry room, and it is within walking distance of a Walmart Supercenter, and several other businesses like Starbucks, Subway, Whataburger, GNC, Fiesta Foods, and Big Lots.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you had a great stay and hope to see you again. We take pride in the hotel and all of the staff work as a team to make sure that the guest have a great stay. Thank you, Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moriarty, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I thought this would be at least something I could rest in for the night. Now I know "why" Motel 6 pulled out of this place and moved across the interstate. It was going to cost them more to fix this dump than what a new place would run. This place was water damaged in the bathroom, barely had any cover on the bed and practically no heat at all and it was 19 degrees Fahrenheit outside when I got into the room. I was about to freeze to death. None of the other ABVI's are in the shape tis one's in.

Room Tip: Go spend your money on a better place than this, it ain't worth it! Pay more $$$$$, get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not have a good stay with us. We have been undergoing a lot of renovations and hope that you will come and see all that we have done. Thanks, Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were coming through Amarillo and were stuck in a really bad storm. This hotel was amazing and i have to hand it to the staff who really took care of us. There were people standing in the lobby and in the office, that how busy these guys were. They managed to get us in a room and we were very grateful for that. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. They even had the heater on for us. The next morning again the staff was great and had road conditions flyers out so that the guest can call. I have to hand it to the hotel, the experience was great. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review.. The storm was unexpected and we are glad that we were able to take care of you. Please pass on the good word to others as that will help us be on top of our game. We are going thru a lot of renovation right now and hope that you will come back and see all that we have done. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was forced off the highway by black ice and needed a place to shelter for the night, or until the weather cleared up. This hotel was located perfectly for my needs. Rarely have I felt so relieved to see a vacancy sign as when I stayed here. Let's be clear, this is not the sort of hotel you stay at when you are on a leisurely vacation and want to pamper yourself. This is the sort of hotel you stay at when you need reasonably comfortable shelter for the night because you can't drive any farther (for whatever reason). This hotel suited me just fine. It was cold as as the proverbial you-know-what in the hallways, but the room was warm. It had a comfortable bed, clean shower and a TV set. You are not going to get more amenities than that out of an ABV, but for a clean and safe place to spend the night this worked out perfectly.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate that you acknowledged we are a comfortable, clean place to stay. We hope that you come back and stay with us and see some of the upgrades we have done, i.e. carpet. Thank you, AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stopped in and paid for a room and after we saw it, returned key and asked for cancellation. Room was filthy. I don't think I've ever seen a room so filthy. Carpet had stains everywhere and the whole room was run down. Gal at front said it had a king bed but instead had two doubles.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response to our hotel. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We have just replaced all the carpet at the hotel and hope that you come back and check out what we have done. Again i apologize that you did not have a good stay with us. If you would like to send me an email i can be reached at abvigrand@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked this hotel on Priceline as we drove across the country before my son starts college next week. We arrived around midnight, and weren't looking for much, just a bed to sleep for a few hours before we continued on. We checked in and went to our room. We turned the air on and black, moldy water spewed across the room. Too tired to complain, we turned the air to low, and the spray didn't reach the bed. When we pulled the blankets back, there was hair and dirt all over the sheets in both beds. They were used, dirty sheets! We went to ask for another room, and were denied. We asked for a refund and were again denied. We lost out on the money and had to spend more to get a decent bed to sleep in. Worst. Hotel. Ever!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here. Spend the extra to get a clean room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am the manager at Americas Best Value Inn, and I am very sorry that you did not have a good experience here the hotel and need to look into this in more detail. Please send me your name that you checked in under, date, and room. Please send the information to abvigrand@yahoo.com

Thank you very much and i look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street

Address: 3930 Interstate 40 East, I-40 at Grand Street, Exit #72-B, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Motel 6 Amarillo East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 67 hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street Hotel Amarillo
Motel 6 Amarillo
Motel Six Amarillo
Amarillo Motel 6
Amarillo Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Amarillo East/Grand Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.