We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tex mex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Taco

Joe Taco
7312 Wallace Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79106-1805
806-331-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 417 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tex mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hangover burrito and truck tacos were favorites. Stuffed avocado and fajitas good. Service fast and friendly at 2pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We eat Mexican food a lot, and Joe Taco has one of my favorites - the El Diablo Burrito. It was removed from the menu, but they still serve it if you ask for it. Be prepared for heat...it varies up and down some, but I always want a backup glass of tea/water, just in case. The salsa and chips are always good. The restaurant is on the small side, but cozy, with good service. The patio area is nice on a lot of days, esp. when there is live music. Those in our family that drink love the margaritas, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don`t pass this one up...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you like your food a little Mexican, this is the place to go, if your in this area. A bit out of the way, but busy, so that should tell you all you need to know. I wish that I could return, but I`m now back in Europe. Sooooo Good, loved it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter ranch, ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decently priced, pretty tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We went to Joe Taco because it was right next to our hotel. I had the barrio burrito. It was very good, although, it could have had more sauce on it. The warm chips and salsa were awesome. My girls also enjoyed their meals.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This place is a bit off the beaten path but well worth finding. When I go to a restaurant and it is packed with locals I know I am onto something. They said they often have live music, but not the night we were there, which was fine since it was less crowded and we got to sit on the patio. We got the sampler platter of tacos and even though we split it we had 2 tacos left over. Service was great. This is not fine dining, but great atmosphere (upscale Greatful Dead/Biker theme) and lots of people watching. Iif you are looking for a place to eat in Amarillo, give this a try, you will not be disappointed. Note that parking is limited, you may need to park on the street.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Taco also viewed

 

Been to Joe Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.