We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Mexican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Taco

Joe Taco
7312 Wallace Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79106-1805
806-331-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 433 Restaurants in Amarillo
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We eat Mexican food a lot, and Joe Taco has one of my favorites - the El Diablo Burrito. It was removed from the menu, but they still serve it if you ask for it. Be prepared for heat...it varies up and down some, but I always want a backup glass of tea/water, just in case. The salsa and chips are always good. The restaurant is on the small side, but cozy, with good service. The patio area is nice on a lot of days, esp. when there is live music. Those in our family that drink love the margaritas, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don`t pass this one up...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you like your food a little Mexican, this is the place to go, if your in this area. A bit out of the way, but busy, so that should tell you all you need to know. I wish that I could return, but I`m now back in Europe. Sooooo Good, loved it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter ranch, ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decently priced, pretty tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We went to Joe Taco because it was right next to our hotel. I had the barrio burrito. It was very good, although, it could have had more sauce on it. The warm chips and salsa were awesome. My girls also enjoyed their meals.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This place is a bit off the beaten path but well worth finding. When I go to a restaurant and it is packed with locals I know I am onto something. They said they often have live music, but not the night we were there, which was fine since it was less crowded and we got to sit on the patio. We got the sampler platter of tacos and even though we split it we had 2 tacos left over. Service was great. This is not fine dining, but great atmosphere (upscale Greatful Dead/Biker theme) and lots of people watching. Iif you are looking for a place to eat in Amarillo, give this a try, you will not be disappointed. Note that parking is limited, you may need to park on the street.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service ...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

So, this is my 2nd time it has happened … this is the WORST place to visit during the rush hours … We ordered their David's Special and it was supposed to be chicken. We had told the server 2-3 times to make sure there is no other meat except for chicken (and it was for religious reasons). However, there were chunks of beef in the plate. I called the server and she did not bother to say a single world of apology. Instead she started giving the explanations that it is made on the same grill so may be thats why there are a few chunks. She told the manager (he wears sunglasses on the back of his head) who did not make an effort to come to our table and look into the matter.

The same manager actually ran into an argument with one of my colleagues just this last week, she was waiting for her order and twice the cook made the same mistake of adding beef instead of chicken. She kept waiting for good 45 minutes, only to be told by this manager that "either she can take the same order if she likes or else she can leave if she wishes". Really? Is this your hospitality? And your respect for other people's religious preferences? Pathetic experience now twice in a row!!! 



P.S. This manager in discussion should make an effort to run the business affairs smoothly and try to alleviate the grievances of customers, rather than turning a deaf ear. We go to the restaurant during the evening hours too and never had complaints with the night time manager.

Bottom-line: If you really feel like eating at this place, avoid the day time (or preferably the busy lunch hours). Otherwise, you may have "Not so pleasant" experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Taco also viewed

 

Been to Joe Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.