We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Would Think You Can Be Giddy Over Doughnuts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donut Stop

The Donut Stop
5815 West Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106
806-355-5774
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Bakeries in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Fort Worth, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Who Would Think You Can Be Giddy Over Doughnuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had no idea what to expect when we parked and walked in. We soon figured out this wasn't your ordinary donut store. People in line ahead of use were ordering multiple dozens at a time. When in Rome,do as the Roman... So we ordered a dozen for the three of us. These were the best donuts, fritters and cinnamon rolls I've ever eaten. We live 300-plus miles south of Amarillo. The Donut Shoppe almost makes me want to drive back there just for donuts!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss the best donuts ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I tried this donut shop based on the reviews and I was glad I did. I do believe these are the best donuts I've ever tasted. We went to the one at I-40 and Bell. The architecture reminded me of a donut, inside and out which I thought was cute. But, most of all, I thought the donuts were the tastiest!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Would go back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The doughnuts were better than Dunkin Doughnuts. Above average in friendly service and very reasonably priced. We really liked the cinnamon clusters.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“The best donuts ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place. Clean, old and great food! I have never had a buttermilk donut like this and the plain glazed were amazingly light! My wife's chocolate cake was still warm, but still had plenty of icing. Two great places we found in Amarillo, here and Tyler's BBQ! Easy on and off of freeway,sw corner Bell and 40!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Donut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Many have tried but none have been able to beat this Amarillo original. Don't miss out on an amazing piece of Amarillo sweetness.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Donut Stop also viewed

 

Been to The Donut Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donut Stop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.