We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8330 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
252 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Outstanding property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel seems to be brand- new. My room was very large and had a microwave, fridge and a real coffee maker. A nice “plus” I don’t see too often was the ceiling fan, so I didn’t have to deep- freeze the room to feel cool. The bathroom was stylish and had a TV screen in it. In fact there were three TVs in all. I just stayed the one night but I would feel comfortable in this hotel for an extended stay.
The staff are very friendly and efficient. I had one request which I anticipated would be difficult, but my request was met with instant acceptance – nice. Breakfast was basic but good.
The surroundings are prairie to the west, Amarillo outskirts and Amarillo to the east, I-40 to the south, running east-west. As the only city of over 180,000 population in hundreds of miles in any direction, it has one or two or even more of every chain restaurant you can name along the interstates. It’s easy to find pretty much anything to your liking for meals.
I will definitely stay there again when I’m next in the area.
And the competition had better take notice.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet as it's not directly on the interstate. The hotel lines up N-S so half...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    91
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
134
120
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Just a block off 40 so spared much road noise, but close enough for convenience. My fourth stop here in 2 years, still clean and comfortable. I do agree the towels could be more plush, but mine were not threadbare. Good selection at breakfast.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX - Go Horns!
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stopped in Amarillo for one night to visit Palo Duro Canyon on a trip from Austin to Colorado. Went out of the way to stay at this hotel based on trip advisor rankings. Stayed in room 114, which was clean and contemporary. However, the bath towels were very worn -- some were several shades off white with threads unraveling at the edges. They were clean and sanitary, just didn't look very nice ... like how white towels would end up after many years of use and natural wear and tear. It was not just one or two ... out of the six towels we got, I'd say 4 of them were in this condition. There was also a slightly unpleasant odor in room 114. I suspect the odor is from the trash bin located in the back of the hotel, which is near room 114.
The breakfast selection is above average, with good hot and cold selections. There was nothing special about this Holiday Express compared to the others we've stayed at. The comfort level, cleanliness and value of this hotel are comparable to other Holiday Inn Express we've stayed at before. Based on my experience, I am giving this hotel an average rating.

Room Tip: Get room that's not near the trash bin in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear bikinibottomdweller,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about your recent stay. It is good to know that our breakfast was sufficient enough for your needs. However, I'd like to apologize if the towels provided did not meet your liking. We'll bring this up to the attention of the management to ensure improvements are taken to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your time and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Best Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new braunfels
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Easy access while driving through for vacation - quick on and off highway and close to lots of restaurants and fast food places. Room had all the creature comforts - good bed and pillows to meet any needs - hard and soft on each bed. Room had a mini-fridge as well as coffee pot. Breakfast area met anyones needs the next morning - eggs and meat, yogurt, oatmeal, pancakes, coffee, milks and apple juice, cranberry juice and orange juice. Fresh fruit was available in the lobby upon arrival in the evening.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for room on the 3rd floor so you don't hear anyone walking above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our Route 66 Honeymoon roadtrip and I have to say, it was one of the most modern and comfiest places we stayed. Our room had a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. The lovely big bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a TV in it. The staff were all very friendly and polite. There was plenty of parking spaces and breakfast was great, they had a machine that makes pancakes in under 1 minute along with cereals, eggs, sausages etc. They even gave us a little bag to 'take-away' our delicious muffins! It was in a great location for the cinema, shops and restaurants. We ate in Hooters for dinner the night we arrived, which was just across the main road and even though I was a bit apprehensive about it at first, the food was very tasty!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I was very nervous about where to stay in Amarillo, but this hotel was great. We only stayed one night, but the room was quiet and clean and the bed, linens and pillows were surprisingly very nice. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amarillo. almost forgot - the night staff was very accommodating!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel was a half way point for us and friends to meet up for a weekend visit. We picked this hotel because of the reviews, the price, and the great location. We were right down the street from the mall, several restaurants, Target, a movie theater, and even the VA Hospital which was a nice plus considering we were traveling with Veterans. The rooms were clean and smelt great. Breakfast was delicious and the ladies in charge of refilling the items were on top of things all morning. The breakfast area was very large and accommodated a large breakfast crowd...something we've found lacking in other hotel chains, which can really ruin the whole experience. The pool is small and the smell can get to you, but the kids seemed to enjoy it. The hot tub steps were green, which kept us out of it, but the pool was clean. The lobby was very pretty and had a couple of seating areas, which we took advantage of during our visit with friends. Much nicer to sit in a lobby area instead of someone's room. Several other large groups had the same idea, which had us utilize the surrounding restaurants for meeting locations often. Would love to see some outdoor seating at this hotel, especially on beautiful weekends like we had! Especially for the smokers, who were stuck in one spot that was right by the entrance to the hotel. Seemed like so many use this hotel for family reunions or friend get togethers, a spot to gather outside would be ideal :) Great hotel, we will be back!

Room Tip: You have to use your room key to activate the elevator, which no one told us about (another guest sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West

Address: 8330 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The provided amenities and atmosphere are unmatched. Each room boasts a wet bar, refrigerator and microwave. The heated salt water pool, hot tub and smoke-free environment are just the start of the Eco friendly based hotel. The spacious Fitness Center houses a variety of equipment for your individual needs. The Business Center and Meeting Room space offer ease to the traveler. The Meeting Room is equipped with a 55 inch HD and easy plug system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.