We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better hotel rooms I have EVER stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8330 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Amarillo
Antioch, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“One of the better hotel rooms I have EVER stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel room is as nice as some of the high end rooms I have stayed in, for a fraction of the price. Flatscreen TV in the bathroom? Yes. Friendly helpful staff? Yes. A hot tub that is actually hot? Yes. Elevator that requires a room key to access your floor? Yes. Restaurants a couple blocks away? Yes. Brand new facility. Awesome. Breakfast was ready at 6:30, I had never seen a pancake making machine before. I miss the place already.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    61
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
98
90
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Room was small but contemporary, with up-to-the minute nice facilities. Pool was salt water and hot tub was also salt water. Pool surface was a bit slippery, but otherwise we loved this place. Bacon for breakfast in addition to lots of great hot items: pancake maker, waffle maker, eggs and other standard breakfast fare. Eating area was great. Service was noteworthy at how good it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wow what a surprise! This is a posh, beautique hotel. Loved all the hip tile and decor. Rooms were small but very efficient. If I were to design a hotel it would be like this one. It is located one block from I-40. The staff is fantastic, great beds, clean rooms and the price is reasonable. The free breakfast was very good along with the patrons. Three flashy Macs with update Windows/MAC platforms show off the computer room as you enter the hotel. When we pass through Amarillo again this will be our place.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor in order to see the Texas sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn Express during our road trips and this is by far the best - its a brand new facility!!
Located just off the I-40 made it a perfect stopping point for us, staff were friendly and helpful. They even have beer & wine hour downstairs if you wish to partake!
Rooms were clean & modern even with a TV in the bathroom!
Breakfast was the standard HIE fare, good wifi and free parking of course. Would stay here if I was ever in the area again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very good Holiday Inn Express with one exception. It is very new...super design...very nice rooms. The staff is very good and helpful. In the evening they have wine and beer available. My wife and I planned to leave early the next morning so we decided to grab the 6:30 AM breakfast and head out. Sooooooo we hung around until 6:30 and it was not ready. Well.....let's grab a decaf and wait a few minutes.....but NO decaf. The manager said it would be ready in 2 minutes. We grabbed a few pieces of bacon...the eggs looked watery so none of them....and had a banana. 10 minutes later still no decaf so we headed out....the manager followed us declaring the decaf would soon be ready but we said.....No Time To Wait. When breakfast is to be served at 6:30 it should ALL be ready. At the hotel we uses the previous night we were told that breakfast was served at 6 but we could show up at 5:30 and it would be ready! This facility needs to have a new standard!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear drlehman,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is great to hear your positive feedback on our room accommodations and hotel staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable that we failed to provide an exemplary service at breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Accommodations were delightful. TV's in the bathroom were a hit. Breakfast was good and convenient. Staff was very helpful; they may want to become familiar with other local businesses in the area. Close to Interstate 40.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Only one year old and very nice. 1 block from I40 on the west side of Amarillo. Right across the street from a new multiplex and just up the road from restaurants & shopping! Big clean rooms, & location can't be beat. Breakfast is included & is ok. About standard for this chain, but everything else is top notch!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West

Address: 8330 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The provided amenities and atmosphere are unmatched. Each room boasts a wet bar, refrigerator and microwave. The heated salt water pool, hot tub and smoke-free environment are just the start of the Eco friendly based hotel. The spacious Fitness Center houses a variety of equipment for your individual needs. The Business Center and Meeting Room space offer ease to the traveler. The Meeting Room is equipped with a 55 inch HD and easy plug system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.