We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyler's Barbecue

Tyler's Barbecue
2014 Paramount, Amarillo, TX
806-331-2271
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 429 Restaurants in Amarillo
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Cerrillos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Do not miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food. We had ribs and brisket. Both were really good. Sides were also great. Tyler is a sweetheart. We dont live close by but i would definitely stop here again if traveling thru amarillo!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    44
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We arrived about 5:00 in the afternoon. Four people behind the counter and we stood like a couple of dummies for at least five minutes before being acknowledged. Briscuit was dry as a bone, chicken dry and stringy and ribs were cold and greasy. Peach Cobbler phenomenal, some of the best I have ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great brisket!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went right at the height of lunch hour and it was crowded, but we still quickly got our food. You go through the line, order, get your food and drink, then seat yourself. They believe in, I believe one of the employees called it the "get to know your neighbor" approach to seating. You may find yourself sharing a table with complete strangers. I got the brisket and my wife got the pulled pork sandwich. We both thought it was absolutely awesome. The potato salad and coleslaw were also excellent!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best brisket!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had to try some Texas BBQ while in Amarillo. This place lived up to its rating. The brisket nearly melts in your mouth. The BBQ chicken and the homemade sauce were also the best. Get there early before they run out of meats!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unimpressed. Come to Oklahoma for real BBQ.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I had heard from the locals and a few sites about this place. Upon arrival I was excited to try Tyler's.

I ordered the ribs and my workmate ordered ribs and brisket. While tender, the ribs lacked bark and flavor, fully expected of good BBQ. The sauce was just OK to me.

I really don't understand all the hype.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyler's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Tyler's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyler's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.